Hello negative thoughts!

11 Jun

I caught a quick line from an on-line sermon my husband was listening to last night and I’m reflecting on it today.

One negative thought leads to a multitude of negative thoughts.

One positive thought leads to a multitude of positive thoughts.

Which is EXACTLY why Paul instructed the Corinthians in this way:

2 Corinthians 10:5 We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.

There have been days I’m down about 3 miles in the bottom of the pit before I even realize what happened!  I’m usually aware of the first thought, and decide to think about it anyway.

12 hours later when it is time to fall asleep, I’m rambling in a nasty, negative place about EVERYTHING and ANYTHING that even has a hint of imperfection about it; and then have no ability to be pleased with anything in my life.

Even if I don’t say it, I’ll think it.

I hate this.

I hate them.

It’s annoying when.

You’re so selfish.

How extremely inconsiderate.

Who does she think she is?

Why can’t you be better at?

Are you really that dumb?

Can you just do it yourself?

We need this.

We don’t have enough of that.

Life is so stressful.

I’m over it.

Ugh I’m so sick of this!

I don’t do this well enough.

Wow- how stupid are they?

How could anyone not see that this is the right way to do it?

 

Am I just the only one who spirals out of control like this?  I’ll own it.  I’m not afraid to say it. It’s ugly.  It’s unholy.  And it all, every last detail of it boils down to one thing.  ONE THING!

I’ve taken my eyes off the Lord.

Sound stupid?  It’s not.  Think about it.  If both my eyes are on Jesus, I can’t be looking around or down on anyone or anything else. 

I find it mind-blowing when two Christians can’t get along.  But the truth is, if they aren’t getting along, one of them or both of them has taken at least one eye off Jesus and rooted it firmly on the circumstance, problem, fault, flaw, preference, personality glitches or other distraction.

I like to believe once we get to Heaven, sin will stop existing because the beauty of the Lord will be SO amazing, SO radiant, SO captivating that we won’t be able to take our eyes off Him.  We won’t be able to pick each other apart, build walls of offenses, lose ourselves to jealousy, and manipulate circumstances because we’ll be so engrossed in the majesty of the God who loves us enough to die for us while we plotted, gossiped, slandered, and destroyed each other on Earth.

I so wish I could keep both my eyes on Jesus all the time, instead of looking around at the people & circumstances in my life.

Practical Application:

Stay deep in God’s Word.  The more I know Him, the more I’ll be able to see Him and fix my eyes on Him.

Pray.  Keep asking for Help.  Confess when I turn my head to the left & right.

And most importantly- ask for accountability.  I need people, most likely the people I talk to the most, to call my sorry butt out when I’m willing jumping into deep, suffocating pits with all my negative feelings and words.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

