Is it your style or your statement?

7 Jul

Have you ever looked at a grown adult and said “they graduated in the 80’s”?   I’m not really sure why it happens, but it seems like a number of people fall into a style between their freshman – senior year of high school and then that becomes the look they keep for life. I’m pretty sure I’m one of those people.  Well not the 80’s part…I’m not old yet (ha ha to all my old friends) but the part about keeping my high school style for sure.

I think I’m willing to sway here and there, but mostly you’ll be able to tell I’m a product of 2001 pretty easily.

Why am I bringing this up?

Jayden wants to wear his hats with a stick straight bill.  He looks like a turd.  Well, OK, to ME and ESPECIALLY TO JOSH, he looks silly.  Josh was harping on him the other day and it just really hit me that I don’t feel like it’s fair to come down on him over a silly style.  Let’s be honest, our parents must have been disturbed when we started wearing our hats rounded into a 3/4 circle and pulled down so far on our heads our eyes barely peeked out.

Look, I’m not going to lie.  I still find that attractive.  In fact, flip it around while you’re working and you might even hear me throw around words like “hot” or “sexy.”

I find the straight hat so silly, but Lord help me if he ever asks to buy skinny jeans.  Let’s cut to the chase.  I think skinny jeans are RIDICULOUS!  On every single girl, I don’t care who you are, they make your butt and hips look bigger.  It’s the angel and tapered lines of the jeans that force your eyes to see bigger and smaller.  Some girls like the idea of having curves and a little, might I say, “junk in the trunk.”  There are men who like it so much, they sing songs about it.  Come every one, join in to Sir Mix -A-Lot’s “I like big butts and I can not lie. You other brothers can’t deny.”

For me, skinny jeans are bogus.  And on guys, they’re HYSTERICAL!  I saw a pinterest board that said “You look SO manly in your skinny jeans, said no one ever.”  And I couldn’t agree more!!!

Should Josh ever want to see me laugh harder than I ever have in my life, he should buy a pair of skinny jeans, a pair of shoes with a tongue that is 10 times the size of the shoe, a skinny v-neck pink shirt, and a straight bill hat, and ask me to go out in public with him.

OK enough about the style change from 2000- 2012. Here is the real dilemma.

Josh thinks there is an “attitude” or “statement” that comes along with the straight bill hat and that is why he doesn’t want JD to wear his hat like that.

I’m on the fence here.  I think there can be an attitude.  But I don’t know that I agree that it’s in the hat.  I mean, come on, like we didn’t think and act like we were a bunch of “bad a**es” with our curled hats down over our eyes??

Were we wrong… yes.  But Josh still wears his hat curled and I don’t get the impression anymore that he thinks he’s a tough guy. (Well, alright, I’ll leave that alone for now dear honey.)

His hat doesn’t give off the attitude, his body language and words do, and I don’t see him acting the same way he would have 15 years ago.

The same goes for me in a pair of boot cut jeans.  I am not portraying any attitude other than I feel comfortable in public wearing them.

PRACTICAL APPLICATION:

I’m still working on this but I think we need to get to the heart of style verses statement.

Just because JD likes the look of a straight bill does not mean he’s trying to make a statement.  Somehow we’re going to have to come up with a checks and balance system to make sure our kids are dressing in a way that they like and gives them confidence, and not in a way that mimics an attitude or statement that is proud, disobedient or rude.

Leave a Reply

