SURPRISE!!!

25 Sep

The absolute most shocking thing happened in my house last night.  Oh, I hope I can do it justice to describe it because from what I’m gaining as feedback lately, there are a lot of women like me out there.

I wrote fairly recently about money control in our home. To get the full picture of this post I’m writing today, you really should click on that and read it.  It isn’t extremely long or anything.  And it really helps lay a foundation for this post. Go ahead.  I’ll wait.

….

In short, I handled every aspect of the money for 11 years.  And I loved it because of the control freak in me, and I hated it for the anxiety-ridden worrier in me.

Anyway- my sweeper died last week.  You can imagine in a house with 4 kids, two days without a sweeper is a big problem.  Thankfully we were gone all weekend so that helped slow the growing piles of dirt, or at the very least, kept us from having to look at them.

The last time we had to buy a sweeper, (which was less than a year ago) I spent 7-10 days studying and researching every concept of sweeping,  including all attachment options, suction power, weight and maneuverability and of course, EVERY review imaginable.  I was seeing filters and 5 star ratings in my sleep!

I talked my husband into a coma with my relentless debate of “should we get one that costs a lot but is expected to last a long time, or just get the cheap one because of the steep disappointment if we spend all that money and we aren’t happy or it doesn’t work.”

Do you know what he said then?  I’m not real sure.  Probably something about not caring what it costs, to go ahead and get what I need.  Who knows for sure.  It never really mattered a whole lot what he said when it came to big purchases because I was going to make the final call. (Holy cow, I cannot believe I just said wrote that out loud!)

Do you know what I did?  I bought the cheap sweeper.  You know, not the absolute cheapest, but the next one up. And that was only after price comparing every possible store that sells the sweeper I had in mind.

And guess what people.  We have a dead sweeper in less than a year.  Oh, I’m so proud of myself.

I’ve never handled being frugal and wise well at all.  Truly, the line is so darn blurry.  I’m like 50/50 on the whole deal.  Half the time I make the right call to “go cheap” or “go expensive” and it works out for me and the other half the time I get totally hosed.

Last night the most unbelievable thing happened in my home.  I was so busy yesterday, I never started looking up all the sweeper options (and like you read a minute ago… I gave the financial control to my hubby.)

The husband had a business supper to attend and when he came home, he walked in with a DYSON sweeper.  WWWHHHAAAATTT????!!!!  I couldn’t even talk.  He kept saying “you look upset.”  I was NOT upset.  I was shocked.

First of all, a DYSON??!!  WOW!!  I’m use to buying the $60 Hoover or Bissell depending on my “best find” research for that year.

Secondly, he didn’t ask me. (Not that he needs to, but he always would…mostly for fear that he’d have to answer to the “wrath of Kayla” for spending too much money, not researching it enough, buying it from the wrong place, etc.)

Third, he NEVER shops.  EVER! (He just hates doing it.)

AND fourth … he never really surprises me with gifts. (Again, the wrath of Kayla.  The poor guy could never win because I’d find a way to make a point that I could have found it cheaper, better, or didn’t really need that gift at all.)

He admittedly said that even two months ago, he probably wouldn’t have done what he did.  Shame on me.

I’m so proud of him! What an AWESOME gift and surprise!

And thank God that He never gave up on me and is revealing my sin to me and helping me see the filth that I was walking in daily.

Practical Application:

I’m still human. And I’m still growing.

1.) The first thing I have to do is to STAY AWAY FROM GOOGLE!  I could easily sit down and do what I would do in the past.  And that is to see if he actually could have found it for a better price and thoroughly study every review out there to make sure he got the best sweeper for the money.

I don’t need to do that.  My husband did his own research and that is more than enough.  We have a 5 year warranty and a 30 day money back guarantee.  Plenty of security and wisdom.

2.) Thank him, thank him, thank him!  He did an AWESOME job!  And he deserves to know how happy I am and how thankful I am that he saved me a week of research, a year of complaining, and a pit of buyers remorse from picking out another piece of junk!

3.) Praise God for the changes in both of us.  What a brand new couple we are becoming.  I’m shocked! And so thankful!!

 

 

4 Responses to “SURPRISE!!!”

  1. Valerie Norris September 25, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    Okay this encourages me so much…my biggest struggle in my marriage right now is directly related to submitting to my husband. In every aspect, submission to my husband, and my attitude with him. And so many of your posts have been directly related to that, and it has been encouraging me so much to make better decisions with my attitude and my words. Thank you so much for having the courage to post about your struggles like this, and praise to God for helping you keep it real!

    • kaylagulick September 25, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

      Thank Valerie! I love seeing Satan defeated by us walking out life together!

      I’d encourage you to click on “Peaceful Wife” at the top of my page if you want more encouragement and practical ways to work on submission. God Bless!

  2. howsyourlovelife September 26, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

    You’re going to love your Dyson…..and I’m going to love your blog!

    • kaylagulick September 26, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

      Howsyourlovelife,

      HA HA! I literally just laughed out loud! I already love your blog : ) so it is a good trade off!

Leave a Reply

