The Open Door.

30 Sep

This past week was really a rough week.

In so many ways, I’ve been growing in Christ, accepting and preparing for  some new ministry opportunities, crocheting my fingers off for a craft show and store to sell my hats as the cold weather comes in, AND more than anything, changing my behavior in my marriage.

Good, good, good and GREAT!!

This morning I’m going to talk briefly about why I call these times in our lives (when a lot of good is coming at once)  “Open door” moments (which can be as long as a day, week, month or year!)

Have you ever heard it said that Satan only concerns himself with those who actually believe Christ and take the great commission seriously?

I partially agree with that statement.  I’ve already discussed before about demons, and how they study and attack us, no matter how “on fire” we are for Christ at any given moment, so I don’t think we are ever “off the radar” for Satan.

However, I DO agree whole heartedly that when we are growing in wisdom at a more rapid rate (like the blinders being removed to an area of sin) or a ministry opportunity is presenting itself, we enter into what I like to call “The Open Door” seasons of life.

This last week felt like I literally opened a door and said “Satan, would you please come into my head and heart and take residence for a little while.”  Because it sure felt like he did just that.

Some of my biggest areas of insecurity and temptation seemed to automatically become surface level.  Even things that haven’t been on my mind in months or years.

Let me be clear here that Satan cannot enter a believer, and he has to ask permission to even tempt us.  Which is a VERY clear indicator that God is with us, and is allowing the situation to unfold for our growth and benefit in our understanding of who Christ is and who we are in Christ.

How do I know this?

The book of Job paints a picture for us that Satan enters heaven with the angels and asks God’s permission to “stir up trouble.” And God hand selects Job.

6 One day the angels[a] came to present themselves before the Lord, and Satan[b] also came with them. 7 The Lord said to Satan, “Where have you come from?”

Satan answered the Lord, “From roaming through the earth and going back and forth in it.”

8 Then the Lord said to Satan, “Have you considered my servant Job? There is no one on earth like him; he is blameless and upright, a man who fears God and shuns evil.”     (Job 1:6-8)

We also see the same true of Simon Peter when Jesus is telling him that he will betray him.

31 “Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift you[a] as wheat. 32 But I have prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.”  (Luke 22:31-32)

Jesus says “when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.”

The times when Satan is attacking are already known by God, and purposed for use in the Kingdom.

I share all this to say, last week I felt so under attack!

~I put on a couple of pounds that apparently are not ready to come off yet.

~My face broke out.  Really, acne is supposed to cease at like 18 years of age.  No one really prepared me that it would follow me the rest of my life.

~The TV seemed to only have hot women cast for every show this week (even though that isn’t even 1/10 of a bit true.)

—  Which all three led to my favorite frame of mind ever, self-image insecurities and issues.

In fact, I cringe to admit this, but I think it is necessary to really paint the picture.

I’ve been fasting lunch one day each week for the last couple months while praying over some very specific things and this week when I was picking out a day, I started doubting myself and started listening to the accuser speak.

— Are you really fasting or is this kinda a good way to work on those two pounds?

I wrestled with that question and ultimately waited a day to fast because I was so spun up about my insecurities and I felt so weak.  But, I told my husband, I prayed up before the next day, and I followed through with fasting!

~My intimacy with my husband was compromised by a busy schedule, illness, and some prompting to meditate on some concerns he didn’t quite seem to be getting the way I thought he should get.  (You know, that desire for them to think JUST like women think and so respond the way we would.)

— I was SO tempted, oh sickly tempted, to revert back to my usual (yet un-knowingly at the time) disrespectful ways.  And I stumbled over my own two feet a little, but, I kept meditating on new truths that I’m learning and I was able to walk out of last week even closer to my husband.  We had some really awesome conversations which led to awesome intimacy in both ways for both of us.

So even though I wasn’t forcibly able to shut “The Open Door” this week, I was diligent to make my unwelcome visitor very aware he was not taking permanent residence on this visit.

Practical Application:

~ Go back and really read and study up on Job and Peter.  Chances are, you’ll see some new truths about Satan and how he is TOTALLY under the control of God, especially when it comes to what he can say and do to believers.

~ Press on through when the heat is on from what seems like every direction imaginable.  You’re gaining so much in the trial.  And you’re learning how to strengthen your brothers (and sisters) in Christ. But more than that, there is something that will change you at the end of the temptation, or else Satan wouldn’t be trying to prevent you from gaining it.

2 Responses to “The Open Door.”

  1. The Water Bearer October 1, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    Kayla, I could have written this post this week. Last week I was also in an ‘Open Door’ moment. All my old insecurities rose up and their claws sunk in deep. I was also coming through a fast, I was facing someone specific, testing my level of forgiveness as they are one who has caused me much pain over the past few years. I spent 3 days listening to the enemy lie to me over and over and I didn’t even know it until it was broken on the fourth day! This is an area I teach others about and yet God is still teaching me about it, showing me there are deeper levels I need to address. I have written a few posts out of this situation,(Yet to publish) But I feel the need to write my version of this week’s open door also. I hope that’s ok with you. Thank you for sharing and confirming to me that this was all in God’s hand all along.. Blessings to you!

    • kaylagulick October 1, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

      You’re welcome! PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE share your open door moment. It is truly the best way for us to know we’re all in this together and to strengthen our brothers and sisters! I am looking forward to reading it. Much love to you!

Leave a Reply

