Politics. Oy!!

19 Oct

Politics are a serious danger to unconditional love and relationships.

I just jumped on Facebook to check a few things and a person I typically respect and love, posted a political ad I totally disagree with.  And here is the real, no-holds, honest truth.  My VERY first thought was: “How dare you call yourself a Christian? It is people like you who live such a hypocritical lifestyle by allowing compromise in areas of your life by supporting things BLATANTLY against scripture and then proclaiming Christ’s name as to why the church is a freaking wreck and the lost think they’ve found God when really they’ve created a false god.”

Hello, judgement.  Plank, plank, where are you today?  I’m noticing specks in everyone elses life at the moment, and I’m not living with much mercy toward their stupid different understandings of what is acceptable to Christ.

I could use a little prayer today I think.  This election is making me struggle greatly with the temptation to judge, and even pick up offenses.

Practical Application-

Focus on me.  Focus on me.  Focus on me.

And take everything else to the Lord.

4 Responses to “Politics. Oy!!”

  1. Ashley October 19, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    I have literally defriended one of our classmates over his obnoxious and extreme political beliefs, judgements, and comments…and that was even before this election!! Eek!!

    • kaylagulick October 19, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

      I guess I understand wanting to hopefully “win people over” but honestly, I don’t feel won over.

      Hurry up and get over election!!!

  2. RaZella October 19, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    I must confess my friend, I got a few chuckles just now in reading this. Why? Because I TOTALLY SEE MYSELF HERE! Oh have I done this, and oh have I been that other person in the past in the infancy of my walk with Christ! Be encouraged to know that you are not alone in struggling with this area. I think next time I find myself about to step up on that pedestal I’ll try to remind myself to focus on me, so that maybe instead of going up on the pedestal I can go down on my knees before the cross.

Leave a Reply

