It doesn’t bother me…

30 Oct

This weeks sermon was on “Toxic Influences.”

The pastor was painting an incredible picture that I feel needs to be broadcasted to every Christian on the planet… so I’ll do my part and use my blog.

I could use the pastors personal stories, but I don’t want to.  I have my own personal stories and maybe sharing mine will help you see yours.

There are certain situations in life when we are morally bothered.  For me, I remember my first big “no, no” situations at a young age being…

1.) Dirty language.  In the form of cuss words, racism, or crude humor.

2.) Don’t do drugs.  That includes all illegal kinds and all legal kinds that aren’t prescribed to you.

3.) Don’t have sex until you’re married. That speaks for itself.

I remember being around cuss words, dirty jokes and the like and being upset.  I didn’t like it.  It bothered me.  I felt uncomfortable and in the wrong environment.

Pretty soon, I was around it so much, it didn’t seem like that big a deal.  I actually stopped hearing it. Nothing felt odd. Everything was normal.

Not long after, I started saying a lot of cuss words myself.  It became a part of every conversation in some way or another.

And without much more time passing… I started changing my moral standard completely.  And it had NOTHING to do with God changing His!! I didn’t want to feel any guilt over once being bothered by swear words, so I started saying things like “Who made them cuss words anyway?  What is the big deal? In other countries, those aren’t even swear words at all.  It’s just a cultural thing and it isn’t a sin.  The Bible doesn’t list a group of words I can’t say.”

As fas as the drugs go… I got to the first two steps, but never step three or four (thank God for His provision in this area of my life.)

It bothered me terribly.

It started being “normal”.

Luckily, I never started doing them, and so never started making justifications for them.

I wish the same were true of sex.

Sex before marriage was WRONG!!

Everyone was doing it and it wasn’t that big a deal anymore.

I started doing it.

I jumped on that GINORMOUS band wagon that started saying things like “I’m going to marry him anyway.  At least I’m not sleeping around.  We’ve already done it once so what difference would it make if we stop now?”

 

What once seemed appalling to me and I held strong convictions over, I became tolerant of, influenced by, and then finally a supporter of.

 

Seeing it in my own life helps me have a little mercy for those who are enslaved by these EXPOSURE traps of Satan.  The victims of exposure are often entirely OBLIVIOUS that they’re a victim and they’re taking the bait – hook, line and sinker!

Have you ever heard anyone say (or said yourself): ??

~ I don’t even hear the language in the movie… it doesn’t bother me.

~ I’m not tempted by naked commercials or movie scenes, they don’t bother me at all.

~ I’m not addicted to it, I can totally just do it every once in a while, it doesn’t affect me at all.

~ It doesn’t bother me if they sleep with someone of the same-sex, it doesn’t affect me and my life.

~ I’m not phased by gossip, it doesn’t make me judge the other person, I can handle it.

 

Pastor Kyle said this one phrase that keep replaying over and over again in my mind and it was this.

“Just because it doesn’t bother you, doesn’t mean it shouldn’t.”

Practical application:

What doesn’t bother you that should?

Have you been tricked into being tolerant or a supporter of something that is BLATANTLY against scripture or morally wrong against God’s standards, and you may be totally oblivious?

What are you going to do about it?

5 Responses to “It doesn’t bother me…”

  1. joyfullysubmitted October 30, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Thanks for this post Kayla! James 1:27 says, “Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.” Most of us know the beginning of this verse but not the end… REFUSE TO LET THE WORLD CORRUPT YOU! The world is toxic, and the more of it we drink the more like it we become…

    • Kayla Gulick October 30, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      So true! Thanks for sharing and reminding us that scripture instructs us in light of this very thing how we should conduct ourselves. We must be in the world, but not of it!!

  2. The Water Bearer October 30, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    Great post! Every word rings true…I just wrote about influences from friends and to question whether they are really enemies. It is comforting to see God is still keeping his running themes going throughout the Blogosphere. A nice confirmation. Blessings to you!

    • Kayla Gulick October 30, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

      I’m headed over to read that post now! Next week the pastor is headed to “toxic relationships”. I agree- God is being intentional to keep common themes ringing true at the same time for all of us!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Heart was Set on Grey’s Anatomy « One True Wife - February 7, 2013

    […] Posts: It Doesn’t Bother Me…  by Lessons of Mercy Worth the Cost: Pursuing Only Godly Entertainment by The Musings of […]

Leave a Reply

