Hope.

7 Nov

I think it is fitting to remind us that HOPE comes from a confidence that God is who He says He is, and He is in control of all that He created.

Hope does not comes from the reality of our circumstances.

 

Here is the truth.  No matter who would have won this election, if you’re a Christian, it would have been disappointing because neither man is professing to be a born again believer in Christ and living their personal lives by the standard of God’s Word, so they wouldn’t have run the country entirely by that same standard either.

 

What would we have had to do either way?

 

Pray for the President that he has an encounter with the Holy Spirit and gives his life to the Lord, not only for how it will change the Nation, but because it WILL SAVE HIM FROM ETERNAL DAMNATION.

We should not hate him.  He is a human, and we’re called to love all humans and witness to all humans. We need to be praying for his salvation.

 

Are you with me?

 

Practical application –

Put our hope in God.  Not in a man.

Pray for Obama’s salvation. Not cry that the next 4 years are going to be a disappointment.

7 Responses to “Hope.”

  1. peacefulwife November 7, 2012 at 7:49 am #

    To me – respecting and submitting to our government leaders is very much like respecting and submitting to my husband. I have to first trust in God’s sovereignty – that He is in control and that He has put this person in authority over me for my good. Then I trust God to lead me through this sinful human being. It is my duty before my Lord to pray for him – his salvation, his marriage, his safety, his wisdom – and that God’s will might be done through him. I Peter is a book about the submissive, suffering servant of God – what all believers are to be. I Peter 2:11-17 speaks specifically about how we are to submit to and respect government authority.

    I have great hope because I know that God is sovereign over our nation. And I know that no human could possibly solve the massive issues that we face. I also know that if we as God’s people will repent and turn to God, that God’s Spirit will move among us and heal our land. That is where my hope is!

    • Kayla Gulick November 7, 2012 at 7:57 am #

      Excellent thoughts! Thanks for sharing!

      • peacefulwife November 7, 2012 at 8:06 am #

        You’re very welcome!

  2. ronfurg November 7, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    Kayla and April — Thanks for your encouraging words of hope. I believe that this election, especially with regard to the moral issues involving sancity of life and marriage, make it clear that as Christians we’re living on foreign soil — that our true Kingdom is not here. We’re living in “Ceaser’s kingdom,” and so give him his due. But, praise God, as Christians we “…are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that we may declare the praises of him who called us out of darkness into His wonderful light.” What a great hope we have! And our commission is to help others discover and join His Kingdom.

    • Kayla Gulick November 7, 2012 at 10:18 am #

      Very true Ronfurg!

      Thank you for sharing such honesty!

  3. graciehill48 November 7, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    shared.

Leave a Reply

