What NOT to do…

24 Nov

Do you know what I love most about getting together with a big group of people be it, family – friends – co-workers – or even strangers?

There is no doubt at some point, you’ll quickly get a lesson in “what not to do.”

Now to be fair, let me say… I probably gave hundreds of women this lesson myself on numerous occasions before I really started working on myself, seeing this awful behavior in myself, and then noticing what was happening around me.

 

It’s so disturbing to sit around a table and watch other people cut each other up. (And not in the “this is all just for fun” way.)

It’s heart-breaking to watch husbands and wives talk over each other, fight or argue in front of people, point out flaws or weaknesses, give each other dirty looks or show disgust and attitude when they interact, and just in general be anything but loving to each other.

It’s unattractive to watch women be loud, obnoxious, use profanity, and belittle their spouses.

 

Like-wise though, it can be equally obnoxious to listen to people be “fake and perfect.”  There is a BIG DIFFERENCE between having genuine polite and respectful interaction between each other…. and “putting on a show” for those watching.  That isn’t a witness, it’s a stumbling block.

There is also a significant difference between giving a compliment, and bragging ruthlessly, which leaves others feeling bad about themselves, unable to fit in, or annoyed.

 

You know the honest truth; it IS easier to see faults in others.  I’d like to challenge you along with myself here.

PRACTICAL APPLICATION:

Take the obvious faults of others, and instead of judging them for those behaviors, be so moved to make sure your life is clean and clear of those faults, sins, and habits, and live a more pure life.

Chances are…. we might need to see it in someone else, to see it in ourself.

4 Responses to “What NOT to do…”

  1. hisworkofheart November 24, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    I just want to tell you I enjoy your blog and all of your insights! They are helpful to me and help me reflect on myself!

    • Kayla Gulick November 24, 2012 at 9:46 am #

      Thanks so much!!
      That’s why I share! I figure… if the Lord is teaching me these things… there is a good chance He’s working on others in these same ways : )

  2. The Water Bearer November 24, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    Another Great truthful post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

