I should do that = I’m sinning if I’m not.

25 Nov

In honor of my 100th post, I’m going to share a confession.

Ha! Most of my posts are confessions, aren’t they?  I have so far, (oh so terribly far) to go in my walk to maturity.

I’ll get right to it.  For many years, things would cross my mind that I should do, or that scriptures talks about as being good, and it never crossed my mind once that I might actually be “sinning” if I wasn’t doing those things.  I simply looked at them as “good ideas to help make my life more holy” should I choose to do them.

That recently changed.  I’m not exactly sure why or how it happened… but I know it happened.

If you’re having a hard time getting your mind around what I’m addressing here, let me put it into a scenario we can all relate to.  Every adult person (and typically much younger than that) has experienced a time in their life when someone didn’t tell them the entire story.  They just happened to leave out some details.

The end result? We feel lied to.  In fact, we call that “lying by omission.”  Did the person actually tell the lie?  No.  But they withheld information that would have made their behavior morally right.

The same can be said for scripture.  The ideals passed on were not included in scripture to be “good ideas” for us.  They were literally instructions to guide us to maturity in Christ.  And if we choose to be passive with these instructions, we’re willfully sinning, even in our ignorance.  We’re basically lying by omission with our lives by living with the Spirit inside of us but not doing everything we can do to be an example of Christ.

Here is my confession –

I’ve made every excuse possible for why I don’t “feed the hungry” , “clothe the needy” and “shelter the homeless” as well as “look after widows and orphans.”

It isn’t that I haven’t had the opportunity or there aren’t any people or needs in my community.  I pass them by, with a pit in my stomach and say “I’m in too much of a hurry right now” “We don’t have any extra money right now ourselves” “what if they pull a gun or knife on me and hurt me or the kids?”

Today, we were driving to church and there was a lady standing on the corner with a sign that said “Please help my family with food.”  She wasn’t asking for money to buy drugs and alcohol (which I still don’t believe is an issue for us… but that for another post).  She was legitimately saying, “We need to eat.”

We drove by.  We didn’t get far and I said “I feel like we’re sinning.”  I no more than said that and my husband was already turning the van around.  We really didn’t have time to go buy groceries, though I wish we could have.  But, we took her some money.

As I got out of the car and walked up to her, I got so emotional.  Just looking in her eyes.  Wounded eyes that said “I have no pride left in my soul” mixed with fear that I might be walking up to mock her or harass her…. I handed her the cash and said “Merry Christmas”.  How I wish I could have said more, but no words would come out.

She said “Thank You Honey.  God Bless You.”

I am NOT sharing this for a pat on the back.  Trust me.  I don’t deserve one.  I haven’t told you yet about the homeless guy we passed walking down the road who clearly needed a ride.  Not to mention… we probably could have given more money… or been late to church and went grocery shopping first.  Or taken her with us to church.

I’m not bragging about my efforts at all because I’m not even convinced myself that we did enough.

But I am saying that I believe with all my heart that if we hadn’t turned around, we would have been sinning.

We would not have been living like Christ models being His hands and feet.  Jesus would never see the hungry and pass them by.

~~ This post is NOT tied strictly to helping the needy.

Here are other confessions and/or areas this applies.

– Making a mental list of habits that are annoying about someone (especially our spouse.) That’s disobedience with the scriptures that say to take our thoughts captive, and meditate only on what is right, good, honorable, and praise worthy.

– Tithing.  Giving God His 10% first.  Malachi tells us that we’re robbing God when we don’t give him a tenth and we know one of the ten commandments is “thou shall not steal.” (II Corinthians 9:7 7 Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. – this is talking about giving generously! This is an offering above your tithe. Scripture cannot be used against itself, it must be used to help further explain itself.  God loves a cheerful giver who gives an offering above the tithe He is owed.)

– Speeding/Building without permits/Withholding tax information–  Scripture says we’re to abide by the laws of the land and to the leaders in authority above us.  Breaking laws, is sinning against God.

I think you get the idea.  For me, this really puts into perspective that “I’m not a good person” and I’m not even close to being sinless.  If I would even think for one second that I don’t have a serious list of repenting to do daily…. I’d be lying.

I’m grateful for the realization though because being made aware of sins, helps me rid my life of them, and stop walking as a hypocrite claiming to be a Christians, but living by my own convictions and ideals.

Practical Application –

Take some time to consider in what ways I might actually be sinning by ignoring parts of scripture and not taking heed of their insight and direction.

7 Responses to “I should do that = I’m sinning if I’m not.”

  1. ronfurg November 25, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    We’ve all got plenty to be confessing about.

    • Kayla Gulick November 25, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

      ugh! I wish it wasn’t true. How I long for the day when sinning is no more and we’re in our eternal home!

  2. Diana (@AFragileClayJar) November 25, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    So very true! Thanks for sharing, we all need to be reminded more of this.

    • Kayla Gulick November 25, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

      Thank you Diana.

      I wish this came natural and easy for us. But even with the Spirit inside of us, we still have the ability to live in disobedience if we choose to do it.

      I’m hopeful my blogging here isn’t just talk and I can be obedient myself and walk this out daily.

  3. Valerie Norris November 26, 2012 at 7:50 am #

    Wow…totally needed this one! I had this very discussion with the husband in regards to homeschooling! After telling God not yet, or wait until we’re in the country, or in a better place financially…the list of excuses goes on and on and now we’re reaping the consequences of not obeying the first time He called us to it! It comes down to pulling one of them out after Christmas with the conversation ending in “I feel like if I don’t do it now, I’ll be sinning.” So funny how He times these things! Thank you Kayla for being so open and for speaking truth!

    • Kayla Gulick November 26, 2012 at 11:04 am #

      Thanks Val!
      I appreciate the comment!!
      And best wishes to you with homeschooling!!! I hope it’s a great transition and an incredible solution for you!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Am I even bothered by my sin? « Lessons Of Mercy - November 27, 2012

    […] just got to thinking yesterday; in order for this post from Sunday to bother me/you/us…. it’s more important to talk about a different question […]

Leave a Reply

