Am I even bothered by my sin?

27 Nov

I just got to thinking yesterday; in order for this post from Sunday to bother me/you/us…. it’s more important to talk about a different question first.

Does it even bother me if/when I sin?

Because if it doesn’t bother me when I sin, then it really doesn’t even matter what things are sins.

Sure, we all know we’re sinners (typically even unbelievers use that type of acknowledgement in their lives in some form) and that we need a Savior, but I’m not talking about “what we know.”

I’m talking about HOW WE FEEL ABOUT what we know.

Because if it doesn’t bother us to sin, chances are, we aren’t really saved at all.  We might know these things (Scripture says even the demons believe in God and shudder) but we have to be bothered by our sin to become broken over it enough to repent from it.

There is no salvation without repentence.

Repent means to acknowledge the behavior and then turn 180 away from it.  That doesn’t mean we can’t/won’t still slip up again in our lives but that’s entirely different from not really being bothered by it and to just keep doing it willfully.

I’m reading the book “Brokenness” by Nancy Leigh DeMoss, and she makes some incredibly valid points about pride in our lives.  She addresses all the ways it shows up (obvious and subtle) and flat-out draws a line in the sand that determines if we really are a broken person or not. (It’s a good book – you should check it out.)

Anyway – my practical application today is simple.

Am I bothered by my sins?  Do I care?  Does it grieve me to grieve the Holy Spirit?  Is it disturbing to me enough to actually repent and rid it from my life?  Do I justify what some might call sin because my situation is different from their’s just so I can keep my sin because I like it or I’m really not guilt-ridden over it?

6 Responses to “Am I even bothered by my sin?”

  1. Ron Furgerson November 27, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    I’m taking your suggestion and ordering Brokenness. Found it at Amazon for $0.01, hardback, used but advertised as “like new.” Thanks for the suggestion and for your post which is a great reminder to check our attitude concerning our sin. It is easy for Christians to fall into a “cheap grace,” mode of thinking where we forget what an affront our sin is to God and to fail to take it seriously. Not that we’re to wollow in guilt and self-pity — but to own up to our responsibility before God to walk in a newness of life by the costly grace Jesus has provided.

    • Kayla Gulick November 27, 2012 at 10:43 am #

      Absolutely! Great wording “own up to our responsibility before God to walk in a newness of life”
      that is SO TRUE!!

      I don’t think you’ll be disappointed with the book at all! Especially chapter 4…. it is very on spot!!

      • Ron Furgerson November 27, 2012 at 10:49 am #

        Thanks Kayla – I’m looking forward to reading Brokenness.

  2. RaZella November 27, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    Thanks for the reading suggestion! “Humility: True Greatness” by CJ Mahaney (sp?) has been totally opening my eyes to “Pride” and just how deep it runs! However, I also know that to keep staying focused on that, and thinking about it, I need to be THINKING ABOUT IT. Sometimes for me, I start to “feel” less when I start “thinking” less. I don’t know if that makes any sense or not. Long answer short: I look forward to another book to help keep me focused when I finish the one I’m currently on. ^_^ Thanks for sharing this thought inspiring posts as always!

    • Kayla Gulick November 28, 2012 at 7:39 am #

      That makes perfect sense! Great perspective!!
      Thanks for the reading material! I keep a list and pick up a few books every so often : )

  3. Diana (@AFragileClayJar) November 28, 2012 at 8:07 am #

    Kayla there is such truth in these words you posted here. Thank you for sharing and I will look into the book you suggested 🙂

Leave a Reply

