Keep teaching me, child.

11 Dec

About a month ago, our 6-year-old son started getting down on his knees EVERY time we pray.  At first, we noticed it at the supper table.  He gets out of his seat, and gets on his knees, and then jumps back up and starts eating.

He never once has made mention of it, clearly was NOT doing it for attention or “announcing” it to anyone, and when asked says “I just like to pray that way.”

What stopped my heart was that he did it at McDonald’s a few weeks ago (the day he decided to be baptized!), at church, at my sister’s house and also at Pizza Hut this past Sunday.

He is so unashamed, so focused, and has zero (and I do mean ZERO) care/fear/attention in the world to who might be noticing, thinking what, or judging him for it.

WOW!  It brings tears to my eyes just to type about it.

This son of mine is teaching me MORE than I could ever teach him with his actions.

NO. WORDS. NEEDED.

Lesson learned my son.  Thank you God for Lincoln, and his witness to my life.  I needed him for a son- and I’m SO thankful you knew that!  What a gift to be on loan to our family.  May he ALWAYS be so unashamed and fearless!

Practical Application-

Don’t let this moment pass by without actually letting the lesson change me from the inside out!!

6 Responses to “Keep teaching me, child.”

  1. The Water Bearer December 11, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    This is FABULOUS! Thanks for sharing, it gave me lovely tingles all over. 🙂 Blessings to you and your family.

  2. smithspirations December 17, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    Wow, Kayla! That’s amazing. Praise God for giving us our children who always seem to be teaching us so much more than we teach them.

  3. RaZella December 18, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    I love hearing/reading/witnessing stories like this. I think there is a very specific reason the Lord said “Unless you change and become like little children” in Matthew 18:3. I have seen such amazing, powerful, innocent and full in your face examples of faith in children. It is something we should learn and absorb and live as adults. Thanks for sharing this beautiful story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

