I’m here…and so is 2013!

1 Jan

Sorry to my faithful readers for the delay!!  My husband has been home from work for the last 2 weeks, we’ve had all 4 kids home with school on break, we’re (almost done) remodeling the only bathroom in the house, and I’ve had a few crochet projects to do!!

I have loved every minute of having the days to do anything we want, and at the same time, my heart longs to get back to normal so I can get accomplished everything I have set to do each day!

 

So, our pastor gave an incredible New Year’s message.  If I summed it up, I’d just say that he used the phrase like  “If you want what you got, keep doing what you’re doing.  If you want something more, make the changes to get it.”

Sounds pretty obvious, but how many of us hear pretty obvious things all the time, yet still fail to do the right thing each time?

For me, an honest look at 2012 leaves me feeling like it might just have been the best year of my life.  And none of the typical big thing happened at all. 

Here are my big years.

2002 – married

2005 – First son

2006 – Second son

2009 – Third son

2010 – Only daughter.

Right?  Those are the years that everyone marks down as “The best moment of my life.”

Those were all GREAT moments!!  I’d never want to give back the first glances at my children, or the year I became “Mrs. Gulick.”

But all those year were flat compared to 2012.  Because this year, I grew more spiritually that any other year.  And the more intimate and closer to the Lord I am, the more I appreciate everyone and everything else in my life too.

I wasn’t blogging on this site in February and March when I went to counseling for a couple of months.  But the year started off with some amazing healing from some destructive and incredibly broken family relationships.  I found ownership for my part, freedom from the parts that had nothing to do with me, forgiveness, MORE mercy – as I pretended I was already giving enough of that, understanding, and RELEASE!!!  Through the next couple months, some of those relationships experiences some apologies, and hopefully a more pleasant future for all involved.

My husband and I renewed our vows on our 10th anniversary which was beyond amazing.  We wrote our own vows together, and then also additional personal comments from each of us to each other. It was a blessed night and brought healing to my heart from the world’s worst wedding day experience EVER!  As well as confirm publically changes that had taken place in our marriage.  As my husband put it “I thought I loved you when we got married, but I love you more today than I did then.”  We’re really learning what God designed marriage to be for and the gospel He desires it to reflect, and it’s changing our marriage from the inside out.

Which leads right into mentioning the brand new world I discovered of uncovering ways I have disrespected my husband that the world would never see as disrespect.  I am learning how to be a better wife, follower, supporter, encourager, and how to stop all the negative, un-submissive, opinionated, rude, “I’m right and my way is better” attitude that leads to passive men and dominate women.  It’s been the biggest challenge of my life, and I’m not 100% successful yet (and probably will never be flawless) but I’m really growing in this area and have seen a lot of progress in myself and in my marriage.

I have confessed sins this year that have brought freedom from mistakes made YEARS ago (like I’m talking 20+ years in some cases) and have set me free from shame and guilt.  Some of these things I never thought I’d ever talk about, but were literally eating away at my soul.  And now, I’ve brought them to the light and they’ve lost all their power over me.  It’s unbelievable!

And lastly, my two oldest sons were baptized.  What else in this wold is better as a parent to experience? Nothing.  I really don’t even have words to describe it.  It was amazing!

So in review, I actually *do* want more of what I had last year, so I am going to keep doing what I was doing, but I also want more.  My “resolution” if you will, is to take this year to step up my prayer life to a level it has never been before.  I feel that I’m lacking a depth that I know can exist but I’ve never made the time to experience.  Some how, in depth prayer, though I’ve done it before and said I want to have present in my life, has never been enough a priority to me to actually follow through with.  So this year, I’m going to make the changes necessary so I can finally say I am experiencing an intimate prayer life.

Practical Application:

What was 2012 like?

Are you planning to do what you did so you get what you got?

Or

What changes are you going to make (AND STICK TO) so Dec 31st 2013, looks different that Dec 31st, 2012 did?

2 Responses to “I’m here…and so is 2013!”

  1. peacefulwife January 1, 2013 at 9:18 am #

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE what God is doing in you! Thank you so much for sharing! 🙂 Happy New Year to you! I can’t wait to see all that God has in store!!!!!!

    • Kayla Gulick January 1, 2013 at 9:51 am #

      Thanks April!

      I’m SO blessed by the people he has put in my life to be apart of this journey and help refine me in the fire! I love being friends with you!

      God Bless!
      Kayla

Leave a Reply

