My present is complete!

4 Feb

How are you coming on your Valentine’s Challenge?

I actually completed mine last week, and gave it to my husband on Friday night.  I know it’s two weeks early, however, the truth is….we don’t celebrate valentine’s Day, and I actually thought it might feel disrespectful to give him a present on that day, knowing he won’t have one for me, and make him feel like he did something wrong.

If you celebrate Valentine’s Day – this is the perfect gift!  And if you don’t, just do it right now because he’ll REALLY appreciate it! AND more importantly, you’ll surprise yourself what you come up with.

I found that I had a hard time only picking 25 things.  I combined a couple and had to leave many out : (  Well, I could have added them, but I would have needed an 80″ frame.  Actually, that’s not a bad idea.  I mean, Televisions come that big now and men are crazy about them…. Ha.Ha.

Anyway, I just wanted to share mine incase you forgot, haven’t started yet, or needed a little encouragement!

 

 

The 25 things I RESPECT the most about you……

 

1.)        You love God.

 

2.)        You read your Bible and use it as the authority by which you live.

 

3.)        You tithe, and you taught me the importance and meaning.

 

4.)        You forgive me SO quickly and SO completely and never hold my mistakes over my head.

 

5.)        You work to be the best at your job.

 

6.)        You treat the people who work for you with kindness and patience.

 

7.)        You are faithful to take your job seriously and never abuse days off or call-in fake sick time.

 

8.)        I never have to fear that you won’t do what it takes to provide financially.

 

9.)        You desire that I be home with the children.

 

10.)    You’re totally dependable.  Even if you agree to something less than ideal or with negative obligations, you keep your word.

 

11.)    You are not too proud to ask for help when you need assistance.

 

12.)    You know things – random knowledge about ‘odd jobs’ that comes in handy ALL the time!

 

13.)    You love the kids and you tell them & kiss them.

 

14.)    You take time to teach the kids things about working, hunting & sports.

 

15.)    You take time to rest. You are not a work-aholic, and are willing to play with us.

 

16.)    I feel safe with you.  I know you’ll protect us, even if it costs your life.

 

17.)    You tell me I’m pretty, but you also tell others I’m pretty and share compliments about me.

 

18.)    You care about my happiness and you let me have an opinion instead of ruling with an iron fist.

 

19.)    You listen to my emotional stories and offer advice or a hug when needed. (Even when I’m too long winded.)

 

20.)    You are content in life and you don’t give way to fear, especially financial fear.

 

21.)    You open doors for me and hold my hand in public.

 

22.)    You say “I love you” even when around your buddies or co-workers.

 

23.)    You wear clothes I like and ask my opinion often.

 

24.)    You have a positive attitude and spend time laughing each day.

 

25.)    You are for me and support all my ministry opportunities.

 

Practical Application:

Read the Valentine’s Challenge – and get started today!

OR – Share with me what you came up with!  I’m all for you bragging about your man to me.  Tell me what you respect about him and what you put together as a present to tell him!007

 

6 Responses to “My present is complete!”

  1. The Water Bearer February 4, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

    Hi Kayla,

    I have been working on mine, since I read your challenge. I decided to do a football analogy, as my Hubby has played soccer since he was 5.

    Things like – Thank you for loving me when I am OFFSIDE and at my worst. You are the MAN OF THE MATCH in our book, We admire your COACHING and CAPTAINCY of our family. We admire how you TACKLES life’s troubles and creates a safe HOME-GROUND for us.. That kind of thing.

    My daughter is going to help me put it together with some of our favourite photos of him on Photoshop and I have a nice frame for it to go in. Thank you so much for the ideas. I also like the idea of giving it before Valentines Day as we never celebrate either and I was worried he may feel bad for not getting me something in return. How did your Hubby react to his gift?? I’m dying to know! Blessings to you!

    • Kayla Gulick February 5, 2013 at 8:14 am #

      GREAT IDEA!!!! And so awesome that your daughter is helping.

      My husband sat there and read the whole thing. He looked up with a really sweet and sincere voice (which he doesn’t do often so I knew he was moved) and said “Thank you.” And then we had a great weekend ; )

      • The Water Bearer February 8, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

        My Hubby was shocked, stunned, He sniffed back a tear. He didn’t understand why, but was extremely grateful. He said “That is so sweet, Thank you, what was this for? Why did you did that? Thank you?” We all had a big cuddle… Thanks Kayla.

      • Kayla Gulick February 8, 2013 at 6:19 pm #

        AAWWWWW!!! I love it!!! Thank you so much or coming back to share that with me!!!!!!!!

  2. Meagan February 5, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    I have been making a little card with what I respect about my husband and leaving it on the bathroom mirror every day. He keeps telling me how much it means to him and how much he appreciates them. This was such a great idea!!! 🙂

    • Kayla Gulick February 5, 2013 at 3:22 pm #

      Awesome Meagan!! Thanks for sharing with us! Great ideas for other times of the year too 🙂

Leave a Reply

