New mercies every day!

12 Mar

I sin every day.

More than any other section of scripture, I relate the most to Paul in Romans 7:15

15 I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do, but what I hate, I do.”

21-24a 21 So I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me. 22 For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; 23 but I see another law at work in me, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within me. 24 What a wretched man I am!

25b So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in my sinful nature a slave to the law of sin.

This truth is really frustrating some times.  I can teach pretty well. With the ability to teach as a woman I’m realizing for me comes the temptation to try to teach men, play Holy Spirit, and judge other women.

I don’t need any more temptation to do those things.  I fail enough on my own at this as it is.

When we recognize sin in ourselves – daily sins – it’s a good place for us to sit and meditate on this section of scripture for a while.

Lamentations 3: 19-23

19 I remember my affliction and my wandering, the bitterness and the gall. 20 I well remember them, and my soul is downcast within me. 21 Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope:

22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. 23 They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

There are two words in there that make this one of the most powerful verses in scripture for our walk with the Lord.

EVERY MORNING.

Men have this uncanny ability to fall asleep and reset.  You can have a disagreement with your husband in the evening hours, you go to sleep that night, and somewhere in there, he sets a “reset button” and wakes up like nothing ever happened.

Have you ever experienced this women?  Most of the time, a woman doesn’t have that super power.  Partly because we’re wired different but partly because of the first part of that scripture.

“I remember – I well remember.”

Somewhere in the translation of remembering, we meditate too long and too hard on our mistakes (or the hurts from our husband) and we stop reading the next verse and we do become consumed.

Because of the Lord’s great love – we are NOT consumed, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning.

If we keep meditating on our failures instead of the truth to overcome, we will never taste new mercies every morning.

The same is true in our marriages.  If we meditate on our great love for our husband, we aren’t consumed by his short-comings or failures, and we can bless him with new mercies and compassions every morning.

Practical Application:

1.) Make the choice (because it is a choice) to decide what you’re going to meditate on. Your failures – or God’s mercies.

Your husband’s failures – or his strengths.  Your own home – or someone’s elses life.

2.) Accept that new mercies are available to us every day.  And once you accept your own reset button from the Lord every morning, you’ll be more free to push it for others when they sin against you.

2 Responses to “New mercies every day!”

  1. The Water Bearer March 25, 2013 at 5:38 am #

    Hi Kayla! I have been away from the blogosphere for a while. Still writing but I had to take a break from reading other blogs as it was consuming all my time. I missed your posts though. This is one of those that I concur with so easily. That scripture of Paul’s comforts me greatly because I feel every word! I do what I hate! And knowing he did too is empathetic to the heart. Yes my husband gets up every morning and kisses me goodbye no matter what happened the night before. It has become a ritual so we know everything is ok. No grudge is held. It helps me greatly. Thank you for this post!

    • Kayla Gulick March 25, 2013 at 8:14 am #

      You’re welceom! Thanks for stopping by again! I know blogs can be a time time-stealer! Awesome for you to balance your life even if it means to set aside what is good, for what is best!!

Leave a Reply

