My beliefs do not make me hateful.

19 Mar

To be honest, I’m not even sure why I’m going to write this post.  The Bible says, in the end times people will call what is evil – good, and what is good – evil.  And that many in the church will fall away and the remaining will face great persecution.

But maybe I just need a place to journal tonight.

I’ve had it with the constant accusations that because I’m a Christian who believes every word of the Bible is God-breathed, useful for teaching and rebuking the church as well as witnessing to the lost, and live by it as the sole authority of my life… that because I don’t accept sin as OK or even deeper, claim it is from God…. that I’m hateful.

I’m not hateful.  I’m faithful.  What kind of Christian – meaning Christ Follower – would I be if I compromised the Word of God and started preaching self-fulfillment instead of self-denial (laying down your life – all your wants, hopes, desires, & sinful cravings to follow Christ?)

As sad as this is, I wouldn’t be a Christian.  And even though some call themselves Christians, they actually aren’t.  We don’t become a Christian because we call ourselves one.  And we don’t become a Christian because we believe God exists.  We cannot love the world and love the Lord.

The Bible actually warns us about this in numerous places. Scripture says if we are Luke-warm (living by the parts of the Bible that don’t cause us persecution, ridicule or self-denial) He will spit us out of his mouth. (Revelation 3:16) And in James 2:19 “You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that—and shudder.

Look what Jesus tells us in Matthew 7:21-23 21 “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. 22 Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform many miracles?’ 23 Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’

Salvation happens when we believe in our hearts that Jesus is our Savior, confess with our mouth and REPENT of our sins.  Then, true salvation is followed by growth, discipleship, self-denial, and good fruit. (That doesn’t mean sinless, perfect, or at any specific speed.)

False conversions happen all the time though.  False conversions are based on fear that God might actually be real, or hope that God might answer prayers when we’re in trouble or someone is sick,  but a life lived by love for the world and a rigid stance against having to deny self of anything that scripture teaches as sin or harmful if that means they’d have to give up something they want to keep doing.  And often even further obvious by bad fruit.  The verbal proclamations that what is actually sinful and harmful is (to them) “FROM God, OF God, or OK with God.”

THAT IS DANGEROUS!!!  That’s the recipe for the words “Away from me evildoers, I never knew you.”

What is the point of this?

Christians stand for Scripture because our lives are sold out to our Faith in Jesus Christ.

We can’t be 100%  Christ followers, and also love the world or be concerned with what is politically correct or socially accepted.  That’s NOT faith in Christ.  That’s man-made religion while stealing the name “Christian” from the TRUE Christian Religion.

Loving God does not mean we Hate Others.  It doesn’t.  It means we Love Others.

We share our faith because we believe Jesus is the only way to Heaven.  It’s not selfish to share the only ticket to Heaven with others, it’s loving.

I’ve never once as a Christian went up to someone and screamed in their face “You’re a disgusting sinner, you’re going to Hell, I hate you and your sinful life.”

But that’s how I’m treated when I say I think sins are sins.

I don’t hate anyone who sins.  We ALL sin.  I sin.  I don’t hate myself. My husband sins.  I don’t hate him.  I have unsaved friends. And I don’t hate them either.

I do however hate sin.  Sin separates us from God… and for those who live as a slave to sin with an unrepentant heart, I hate that they have blinders on and do not yet have a reconciled relationship with the Lord.  I hate Satan.  I hate his lies, schemes, and destruction.  I hate the agenda of the world.  I hate the division in the church as they struggle to be sucked right into this silly, yet massively powerful and effective lie that if we stand for scripture we’re judging and hating others.

No, we’re not.

Christians – Please, Stop letting the accusations of others make you give up on your faith.  Don’t compromise Scripture because of persecution. Quit dividing the church over attempts to “accept” sin and reduce it to something that doesn’t matter, or worse yet, is from God.

And above all… stop letting those who don’t read the Bible try to pull a verse out of context, without the study and wisdom of the Holy Spirit, and intimidate you into backing down and caving in to their unlawful demands.

Scripture tells us not to judge people.  It NEVER says not to judge behavior.  How can we claim anything as a sin if we don’t look at the action and take it against scripture?  If we don’t judge – we can’t create a moral standard for anyone to live by.  If we don’t have a moral standard, then that means nothing is wrong.  Rape, Murder, Theft – it’s all OK because who are you to judge????

Can you see how silly that is?

And let me close by saying this, EVERYONE who follows Christ has to deny themselves a sin(s) that they liked, wanted to keep, or wouldn’t have given up if they didn’t trust that God’s ways are Righteous and Holy.

No matter what you’re forced to hear and pressed to believe – we’re not suggesting anyone do anything we haven’t done/aren’t willing to do ourselves.

Practical Application –

Pray to God for Him to renew your strength if you’re up against the attacks from someone claiming you’re judging others when you’re simply acknowledging sin.

Stand firm.  For we know that we have power over the grave.  Nothing that happens to us on Earth can separate us from the love of God.  We can take a lesson from the Proverbs 31 woman and laugh at the days to come because the torture of them is powerless over our souls.

And lastly, if you’re compromised Scripture in the name of being politically correct, up to speed with the world, not being judgemental, whatever the case may be… repent.  Come back to the Lord.

 

 

8 Responses to “My beliefs do not make me hateful.”

  1. peacefulwife March 20, 2013 at 8:07 am #

    Today, anyone who clings to God’s Word is considered to be a dangerous “extremist” – even in the church – that is how far we have fallen away from God. 😦 Thank you for standing for God’s truth without compromise and for loving others with the love of Christ! I pray God may continue to empower you to boldly proclaim His life-giving truth.

    • Lauren March 20, 2013 at 8:41 am #

      Kayla, a very important thing that this post is missing is that sharing Jesus with others in not simply about Salvation — or a ticket to heaven as you put it. The gospel Jesus preaches isn’t just about Salvation, its about the Kingdom. Jesus teaches us to pray that the Kingdom of God will come to earth. (Matthew :9-13) The Gospel of Salvation is about getting people to heaven (which is certainly true and important), but there’s also the Gospel of the Kingdom which is about bringing heaven to the people. Both. Not just one or the other.

      Jesus’s ministry was comprised of four parts: teaching, preaching, healing, and deliverance. Look at Luke 4:18, Matthew 4:17, 23-24, and Matthew 8:1-17. Often we leave out the last two parts.

      • Kayla Gulick March 20, 2013 at 9:00 am #

        Yes Lauren, I agree to what you’re saying. I wasn’t attempting to tackle Jesus’ ministry or all of our roles, commissions or spiritual gifts as a church… I was trying to tackle just a very small piece that sharing convictions of scripture with people is not hateful and it doesn’t make us judgemental of them either.

        If I were to tackle everything in one post, it’d never end 🙂 But thank you for pointing that out for the readers!!

    • Kayla Gulick March 20, 2013 at 8:57 am #

      Thank you April! And yes, it is so sad how far we’ve fallen from the Lord. Instead of any fear of the Lord or of condemnation, we’re turning more toward pride and treating God as a genie for our wishes and healing. Oh how I hope the Church repents and we see true revival!

      • learning1 March 20, 2013 at 9:54 am #

        Wow! Wow! Wow! I needed this Kayla! There are very clear arguments here – thank you – thank you! You have renewed my heart!

      • Kayla Gulick March 20, 2013 at 11:02 am #

        Thank you so much for sharing that!

  2. gleniece March 22, 2013 at 11:57 pm #

    Kayla, thank you for sharing this important topic. When we stand up for God’s truth we will alienate ourselves from others (even family members). But pleasing God should always be our first priority.

    • Kayla Gulick March 23, 2013 at 7:26 am #

      You’re welcome!

      Thanks for reading along and leaving an encouraging comment!!

Leave a Reply

