Seasons

25 Mar

This morning, I’m lost in thought over the seasons of life… and our understanding of “time.”

You’ve heard it said “God’s timing is not our timing.”  And we get that in the sense that sometimes we ask for things and we don’t get them right away.

But what about the thought of Eternity.  To God, there is no time.  He sees, the past, present and the future.  He’s already seen the end of the world, wrote the end for us, and yet will be with us when we get to the end.

It’s a lot for us to wrap our minds around.  But in a small way, I think we’re more there than we even realize at times.

We were created to be eternal beings.  That’s why death is so awful for us to grasp.  We weep, wail and mourn, and yet we rejoice with hope knowing our souls aren’t dead, only our bodies.  We fear the process of dying, but we grow excited thinking about Heaven. Our souls are in conflict with what our human minds are able to understand.

We can see this same battle with time.  Some seasons in my life feel so long, I practically feel like nothing else has ever even happened in my life when I’m in the middle of a really tough season.  When I was trying to get pregnant for my 3rd child, and had 3 miscarriage, and went 3 years from starting to try until Jaxon was in my arms – I couldn’t remember any other season of my life very well at all.  The season I was in was all-consuming!

And today I stand here and feel like that season wasn’t all that long because almost four years have passes since then and SO much has happened!!

Laying in bed last night I said to my husband, can you even believe we’ve been together for 11 1/2 years?  That’s insane!  I don’t even know where the last 10 years of my life went. I still feel like it’s 2003, and even saying 2013 feels like we’re talking about the future.  I barely remember life before my children.  It feels like I’ve had them or 20 years, even though my oldest just turned 8.

When I try to process all that, it literally blows my mind.  I can’t do it.

I’m sharing all this to say, we’ve been in the valley for over 6 years during the season of being too big for our house, trying to sell, and not being able to.  I went through all the emotions of grief really. (Which I believe we all do when we want something and have to wait on the Lord.  It’s a dying to our wants process.)  I was angry, frustrated, sad, exhausted, hopeful, disappointed, joyful, accepting, patient.

And now, on Friday, we finally sold our house on land contract, and bought a new (totally perfect for us!) house that we’ll hopefully be moving into in 30 or so days!!!  (Praying for no hiccups or hang ups along the way!!)

I don’t know what your seasons look like, but I’m sure when you think about them, you struggle to grasp the “time” of them as well.

All I can is that, we have to recognize that the truth of that is just another wonderful reminder to us that our souls are alive and longing for eternity.  There is a part of us that grasps etenity even though our minds aren’t there.

No time. No forward, nor backward.  No past, present, future. Just Eternity.

Practical Application –

Rejoice in the knowledge that we can already see how eternally made we are, even while walking this Earth.

5 Responses to “Seasons”

  1. Rachel Self March 25, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

    Wahoo!! Congrats on selling the house! Praying for no hiccups! 😀

    • Kayla Gulick March 25, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

      Thank you, thank you, thank you! We’re beyond excited!!

      • Rachel Self March 25, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

        I can imagine so! 6 years seems like FOREVER ago!

  2. RaZella March 25, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

    YAY! What PRAISE about the house situation, so excited for you and your family. It is insane how seasons can sometimes pass and it feel like no time has passed at all. Sometimes I look at pictures of my son as a toddler and can’t believe he is now taller than me, and only 11! It’s amazing and wonderful and terrifying all at the same time. It’s a testimony I think to the “awe” our God inspires and cultivates and is worth of. Complete and utter amazed awe.
    In regards to heaven, I once heard a saying that “There are no tears in heaven because in eternity, there is no time. So you never have a chance to miss brothers or sisters in Christ because in a blink of an eye they are right there with you”. I think it’s a neat saying, and who knows, maybe there is some small grain of truth to it, although I know that in heaven I won’t be able to miss anything because I’ll be too amazed and in awe of being there with my Savior. WOW.
    Sorry, your post just made my mind spiderweb with all these thoughts and it’s been awhile since I comment bombed you. 🙂 PRAISE AGAIN FOR THE HOUSE SITUATION!

    • Kayla Gulick March 25, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

      HAHA! Thanks for sharing! I do think there is some truth to that saying 🙂

      And thanks for the praise! God has been so faithful… bringing about a plan that is wonderful and perfect for us!!

Leave a Reply

