It should have been…

30 Mar

I use to have a hard time with being controlled by guilt.

I thought guilt was good.  After all, I could only feel guilty if I was aware that what I had done was wrong, right?

No. The truth is, guilt is a trap from Satan.

Conviction is from the Holy Spirit.  It’s the awareness that what we’re doing/saying/believing/acting on is sin and we need to ask forgiveness and repent.

Guilt is from Satan. It’s the constant awareness of our failures which leads to anxiety, depression, sadness, embarrassment, and solitude.

Conviction brings us closer to God.  Guilt takes us farther from God/Others.

That being said, though I’m not still lost in guilt over my past and present sins – that doesn’t mean I’ve forgotten them.

Here’s the truth.

 

I’ve loved others more than I’ve loved God.

I’ve created hundreds of idols.

I’ve told countless lies.

I’ve stolen things.

I’ve betrayed my friends.

I’ve gossiped about many.

I’ve lusted.

I’ve slandered my neighbor.

I’ve coveted processions.

I’ve been careless with my words.

I’ve been unforgiving.

I’ve been sexually immoral.

I’ve hated people.

I’ve been drunk.

I’ve used the Lord’s name in vain.

I’ve been a coward.

Undoubtedly, there’s more.

 

And according to scripture (Revelation 21:8 – I Corinthians 6:9-10 – Exodus 20:1-20) I will not inherit the Kingdom or Heaven and I will spend eternity in the Lake of Fire.

Except, Jesus paid the eternal price FOR me.

And because I called on His name, asked forgiveness, and repented of my old sinful ways, I became a Saint and was granted access to eternity with God in Heaven through total reconciliation.

I can’t celebrate Easter without thinking about this one truth.

It should have been ME!

2 Responses to “It should have been…”

  1. gleniece April 7, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

    I thank you for your candor in all your posts. Recently, I was wracked with guilt over another failure. I asked for forgiveness from my husband and received it lovingly, but inside I still felt terrible. (This perfectionist wife is currently enrolled in the life-long Respect Your Husband As Unto the Lord school and cringes at anything lower than a B+.) I began to eat for comfort and hang my head…I felt the ‘woe is me’ monster creeping up, but then I realized this is not of God – to wallow, to relive the sin- but of Satan and I would not consent. Where there is repentence, there is freedom from guilt. Thank you, God.

    • Kayla Gulick April 7, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

      So so true! I’m relieved you were able to see that before too much suffering. God Bless you!!

Leave a Reply

