Running from or chasing a feeling….

6 Apr

I don’t know why this just hit me tonight, but it seems to me like when I look around, almost everyone is running from or chasing a certain feeling(s).

Feelings dictate most of our choices, don’t they?

We feel haunted, trapped, ashamed, or disgusted by our past, so we run from it.  Sometimes we run so far from it that we cut out everyone we know who might know any part of it. People have been known to up and move a few states over just to get away from those feelings.

We feel unloved, unwanted, unhappy, or empty and so we run from relationships.  That’s really what causes divorces isn’t it?  I mean, we say it’s an issue like money, work, addictions, etc… but it’s not really any issue at all.  It’s the feelings we have or seem to be missing that ultimately makes us choose to walk away.

We feel worried, fearful, full of anxiety, or intimidated, so we don’t step out in faith, take big risks, or put ourself out there.  We take the predictable, planned out, and usual path instead of stepping out in any kind of faith or letting anyone else lead us.

On the flip of that,

We chase all the feelings we desire.

We cling to and “worship” objects, people, places – ALL SORTS OF THINGS that provide the feelings we want to experience.

Excitement, Love, Respect, Relaxation, Peace, Security, Trust, Happiness, Freedom, Acceptance (totally not an exhaustive list here!)

The problem? Feelings change.  Feelings trick us.  Feelings don’t last forever.

I know for me… I’m always desperate to feel loved and wanted.  My mood is up and down ALL the time based on how loved and wanted I feel.  About a million things a day make me feel loved and a million more that don’t.  It’s a constant battle all day, every day.

My reality has far less to do with any circumstance, person, action, or situation itself and FAR MORE to do with how I feel about it.  When I think about it, it’s a lot of pressure on everyone and everything to keep me feeling good all the time.   And my chasing good feelings is actually putting demands on others.  And my running from feelings is actually limiting watching God show up and take what was bad and use it for good.

Anyway, this is one of those few and far between posts where there really is no practical application.  This is just raw and real thoughts that always come out best on paper a computer screen.

I guess if it’s always about how I feel or don’t feel, it’s really all about me.  That sounds a little selfish when I put it like that, doesn’t it?

4 Responses to “Running from or chasing a feeling….”

  1. gleniece April 11, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

    I thank you, Kayla, for bringing to our attention this most important subject. God’s spirit should be our guide in everything -never our hearts- but unfortunately the world’s philosophy has seeped into even those who call themselves Christian.

    • Kayla Gulick April 11, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

      Amen.

      We spend more time debating Christianity and making it fit into our lives, than reading God’s Word and changing our lives to model His.

      Thanks for sharing!

  2. The Water Bearer April 12, 2013 at 6:00 am #

    I hear you Kayla.. Loud and Clear. This is truth. I am being convicted left right and center tonight. Every post I read has been putting me in my place. My recent illness and the medication to deal with it has aggravated my mood disorder. I am an emotional wreck! This was just another confirmation of what has been going on in me and I am so grateful that God uses His instruments to show me what I need to see. Blessings to you!

    • Kayla Gulick April 12, 2013 at 7:02 am #

      You’re welcome. I too am fighting the emotional rollar coaster! And have also been so blessed by reading your posts and others. It’s like God purposed them to write things just for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

