A painted lemon is not an orange.

11 Apr

Last night at small group, we were talking about “the fundamentals” of Christianity.  Everyone was tossing out simple truths that they easily stray from, and were acknowledging their need to get back to the basics.  It was a really good discussion!

The conversation led me to remember something I had heard once.  I couldn’t recall the whole story at the time, but I knew the general point was that when we’re squeezed by difficulties in life, what’s really in us is what comes out.

When I was thinking about it this morning, I remembered more of the details from the message I had once heard, and I thought I’d share here because it truly is fantastic material.

The imagery portrayed made this story really come alive.  So I’ll explain in the same way.

If you have a lemon, it has a tough peel on the outside that is yellow, it’s divided into segments on the inside, and it’s filled with juice that is very bitter.

If you have an orange, it has a touch peel on the outside that is orange, it’s divided into segments on the inside, and it’s filled with juice that is very sweet.

You can take the lemon, paint it orange and put it into a bowl of oranges, but when it’s squeezed, the juice that comes out will still be very bitter.

 

The same is true for us.

We can cover our exterior with all sorts of things, ranging from fancy clothes to impressive Christian talk…. but when we’re squeezed, whatever is truly on the inside, is what is going to come out.

 

Practical Application:

What’s inside you?

When you’re squeezed by the pressures of life, what comes out?

What steps can you take(basic fundamentals) to change your insides in the easy times of life so when the heat is on, what you’ve practiced in the off-season gets put to use in the championship game?

8 Responses to “A painted lemon is not an orange.”

  1. Hope Blooms in Darkness April 11, 2013 at 11:06 am #

    I really love this analogy!

  2. Hope Blooms in Darkness April 12, 2013 at 5:53 am #

    Reblogged this on Hope Blooms in Darkness and commented:
    I read this post yesterday and it’s stuck in my head, I feel squeezed by circumstances in my life and this is reminding me to watch my reactions and what comes out of me as a result of the squeezing. This a really brilliant post, have a read and I hope it helps you as much as it helped me!

  3. katieislivingforJesus April 12, 2013 at 7:31 am #

    This is beautifully simple and such a good image. I can definitely apply it to my life. Thanks so much!

  4. Jonathan Caswell April 12, 2013 at 11:39 am #

    Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    SO SIMPLE…YET PROFOUND!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Super Sweet Blogging Award | katieislivingforjesus - May 22, 2013

    […] https://lessonsofmercy.wordpress.com/2013/04/11/a-painted-lemon-is-not-an-orange/ – This blog is full of wisdom, but also full of honesty #appreciated  […]

  2. Tears, tears and more tears | Lessons Of Mercy - June 26, 2013

    […] I’m not upset about it, nor am I holding any anger or unforgiveness. I actually think it’s good sometimes to hear what people really think.  I find that it’s a huge growing opportunity and gives us bare bones realities to see exactly what’s inside of us.  Remember that post before about the lemon and the orange?  When I’m squeezed, I want to know sweet orange juice is coming out, and not sour lemon juice from a lemon painted orange. (If I lost you, go back and read this.) […]

Leave a Reply

