Fear Not

1 May

Yesterday, I got a phone call from my old neighbor across the street. An older gentleman lives there and then had a friend who is a female stay there as well. They aren’t a couple, just friends. They were both always very kind to us. Although the woman is the kind who you only hope to run into if you have 30 minutes at least to kill because she can really talk!

Anyway, she called to say they were really going to miss us and thank us for being such good neighbors. It was really sweet. And then she went on for 15 minutes about how they’d keep our cats if we didn’t want them at the new house, how they loved them, would sneak them the expensive wet cat food and loved to pet them when we were away from home.

It was kinda hilarious! We had no idea about any of it!

Anyway, the reason I share that is to share this, we also had a set of neighbors who were not very kind. They were nosey, bossy and wanted to talk politics CONSTANTLY! The thing is, of our surrounding neighbors, they were the only Democrats.

The woman neighbor who called was talking about if we knew who was going to move in because she was fearful to get more neighbors like that other couple who lives next door. Thankfully, I was able to tell her that we met them and she has nothing to worry about.

But it spurred her to talk about Obama and how she’s terrified of this new health care system. (Look, I warned you… she can talk forever and about 30 topics an hour!)

Anyway, the fear was very obvious in her voice and I said to her “Maria, we don’t need to be afraid. God’s Word says we have nothing to fear and that He’ll protect and provide for us. And even if we should suffer or die, we have immediate access to Heaven which is far better than this life and is our true home.”

She was very moved and said “Is there any scripture you can share with me so I can read it later?”

Scripture about not fearing – oh the possibilities seemed endless! But for some reason I chose Psalm 27:1-6 which is one of David’s prayers when Saul was after him. I thought it was fitting as she feels like President Obama might be her enemy.

Here it is:

1 The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

2 When the wicked advance against me
to devour[a] me,
it is my enemies and my foes
who will stumble and fall.
3 Though an army besiege me,
my heart will not fear;
though war break out against me,
even then I will be confident.

4 One thing I ask from the Lord,
this only do I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of the Lord
all the days of my life,
to gaze on the beauty of the Lord
and to seek him in his temple.
5 For in the day of trouble
he will keep me safe in his dwelling;
he will hide me in the shelter of his sacred tent
and set me high upon a rock.

6 Then my head will be exalted
above the enemies who surround me;
at his sacred tent I will sacrifice with shouts of joy;
I will sing and make music to the Lord.

Practical Application:

Maybe you have an enemy after you.

Maybe you’re also fearful of where this Nation is headed.

Maybe you’re fearful of Obama-care.

Maybe you’re fearful of how you’ll pay the bills next month.

Or if your husband will ever find a job.

Or if your kids will be safe when you’re not around.

 

There is much that pulls on us and tempts us to fear!

But we have the King on our side. There is nothing man, nor this world, can do to us that God can’t protect us from. Even death. For He takes us home to eternity in His presence where we will rest in His glory forever.

2 Responses to “Fear Not”

  1. Julie Eitniear May 1, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

    Thank you for the scripture on not fearing. I didn’t think I needed them this morning when I first read your blog, but by the end of the day I searched for it again just for the reassurance of those verses. Thank you!

    • Kayla Gulick May 1, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

      Oh good! I’m so glad you shared that. Fear is so sneaky – it can almost engulf us before we even realize we’re all worked up. I know I struggle with fear often, but I feel like God is helping me see it sooner and practice faith more quickly than weeks/months of freaking out 🙂

Leave a Reply

