Tough to hear…..

4 May

Are you desperately in love with someone? A spouse, a fiance, a boyfriend?

Did you hear about them from someone else?

Did your relationship start with them because someone introduced you? Or did you happen to meet by chance?

Did you start talking to each other, writing letters, making phone calls, sending emails?

Did someone else read those letters to you or intercept and repeat the phone calls to you?

No? If they had, would you have maintain a relationship with your boyfriend/fiance/husband if you only spoke to them through someone else, or understood what they were saying through someone else?

~~~~~

Is it any different with our relationship with Christ?

Did you hear about/ meet Him through someone else? Or on your own?

Did you start praying, reading His love letter to you (Your Bible) accepting His messages to you directly (even if they mean changing, dying to self, or going against mainstream thought)?

Do you only learn when a Pastor, Book, or Teacher interprets for you, or do you dive into your Bible everyday on your own?

~~~~

Do you see the point?

How can we claim to have an intimate relationship with Christ is we aren’t studying His Bible daily? How can we claim to know God at all, if we only learn about Him when someone else teaches us 1-2 hours a week? How can we begin to preach that we’re going to Heaven when our lives are a walking contradiction to God’s Word because we don’t even know what is in it, or don’t like what is in it so create a made up ideal of religion (which is totally and completely idolatry – creating a false god and false religion but calling it Christianity)

It might be really tough to hear.

But we can’t claim to love Christ and accept His love for us, if we don’t talk to Him directly, read His love letter to us, and care about and believe in what He cares about and believes in.

Practical Application:

Evaluate my relationship with the Lord.

Can I honestly claim that I love Christ?

Am I putting in my part of the relationship to maintain a true relationship?

Am I dependant on a relationship with Christ through other people?

Do I treat God as if I know Him when I really don’t have a clue because I never open my Bible at all?

5 Responses to “Tough to hear…..”

  1. hopestrait May 4, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

    Great truth! But, for some, tough to hear!

    • Kayla Gulick May 4, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

      It is tough to hear. I remember when this was first explained to me and I really got it — It changed my life!

      • hopestrait May 4, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

        I agree. People need to understand. MY RELATIONSHIP with JESUS has changed my life. He is the lover of my soul.

  2. The Water Bearer May 8, 2013 at 7:02 pm #

    Good wake up call for many I imagine. Keep up the good work. Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

