Conservative

18 May

I’ve been thinking about this post for a very long time.  I’ve sat down to write it before, and felt like I wasn’t sure I could really do it justice, so decided not to write it.

I find it really odd that so many people call themselves “Conservative” yet live a life and support ideals that are definitely not conservative.

I’m not sure if people *wish* they were conservative, *want* to be conservative, or just simply aren’t even sure what conservative means, and so they identify themselves in that way, but honestly are very liberal.

I looked up the word CONSERVATIVE in the dictionary. Here is what I found.

CONSERVATIVE: disposed to preserve existing conditions, institutions, etc., or to restore traditional ones, and to limit change.

On the grounds of the definition, I’m not sure why those who are in support of abortion, gay marriage, no marriage, removing prayer from school, feminism, female pastors, equal gender roles in marriage, and other non-traditional, new institutions, and continually changing conditions would align themselves with the “conservative” title.

Just for the sake of helping explain this point.  I also looked up LIBERAL and here is what I found.

LIBERAL: favorable to progress or reform, as in political or religious affairs.

Please understand before I take on WAY more than intended in this post, I am NOT DEBATING RIGHT AND WRONG in this post.  I don’t want an onslaught of opinions about abortion, gay marriage, female pastors, or any other conservative stance.  I’m not trying to debate issues AT ALL!

I just want to point out that what was once a true conservative stance, has become very blurry.  And conservative has become almost the “wrong” word to use because now, conservative has been reformed to be much broader a word than its actual definition.

I think this happened because liberal was such a strong word, and people felt like they were more conservative than liberal, so when given the choice, they choose conservative.

And to be honest, I write about this because I see the same thing happening with the word CHRISTIANITY.

It’s a lot broader word than it was when Jesus first rose from the dead.

Those who do not follow the principles of scripture often still say they follow Christianity.  Those who believe we should make up our own commandments to abide by, still say they follow Christianity.  Those who are liberal to change what is wrote in the Bible, still say they follow Christianity.

For some reason, this compels me not to call myself conservative or a Christian without getting into a conversation about what that really means to me.

Maybe this is God’s way of helping me share the gospel???

Practical Application:

Listen for the words conservative, liberal and Christianity and see if you also find that they are extremely broad words with very little exact meaning anymore.

Ask yourself what this means to you?

2 Responses to “Conservative”

  1. Bethany May 19, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

    Very well said, and I can’t say it’s something I’ve thought much about. Now that you’ve said it, I can recall conversations where the conservative/liberal, christian/non-christian vocabulary has been sorely misused.

    • Kayla Gulick May 19, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

      Thank you Bethany.

      It is amazing just how casual those words have become. I really believe it’s a lack of having words for “in between” if you will, so people pick the word they think they are “more” like.

      And it’s just gotten too broad now.

      I appreciate your feedback!!

Leave a Reply

