Visual Reminders

6 Jun

For the sake of honesty, I’m going to admit that my mood is easily changed by circumstances. Not always 100% of the time, but frequent enough that I’m able to quickly lose sight of the kind of heart attitude I really long to have, and one that Jesus would desire I live out.

I wrote a post pretty recently about the fruits of the spirit, and how if Jesus is living in me – and He can’t be anything but Holy, good, and faithful to truth, then He will always act on the fruits of the spirit and give me the power to so as well. However, I still have the choice to act in my flesh and reject the power of the Holy Spirit. And sadly, I still do that more than I wish I did.
Even if it’s just in my thought life, and nobody else knows about it.

Things that happen in my life to change my mood are as follows, because maybe you relate to some. (I’ll put the fruit of the spirit I lose in parenthesis.)

– My family members neglect to care about things that are important to me and I start to act unloving (love)

– Plans that we’ve made for our future begin to unravel because of circumstances or finances and I become depressed. (joy)

– What I see in my mind as the best situation for us is NOT the direction I feel like my husband or God is taking us. (peace)

– My kids start acting up and misbehaving and I quickly become impatient and brash with them. (patience)

– I find out someone said something about me that is cruel or untrue and I think or say very unkind things about them in return. (kindness)

– When I’m working on respecting my husband and he says something I feel is unloving or uncaring and I revert to the mindset that he doesn’t deserve me to be respectful or good to him. (goodness)

– When I make a commitment and then realize I really don’t want to do what I agreed to do and try to think of a way out of it. (faithfulness)

– When I’m trying to teach someone something and they just don’t seem to be getting something that should be so easy to get so I start to get irritated and harsh. (gentleness)

– When I know what is right to do, but my flesh demands something else of me that promises immediate gratification or pleasure and I give in. (self-control)

The honest truth is that I WANT to live in the strength that the Holy Spirit provides to live out these fruits.  Nothing about me wants to live in the flesh.  But just having the scripture memorized and desiring to do it hasn’t been enough for me.

So, I’m going to create some visual reminders.  I want to lay my eyes on things that help me stop, take a deep breath, PRAY, and move forward in the right way, instead of throwing it all out the window and following that unhealthy heart attitude that is always there to tempt me.

And now that I have my kids home for the summer, I thought this would be a GREAT thing for them to be apart of too.  I was thinking about something for us to study this summer, and this is going to be it!  We often pray about and talk about the fruits of the spirit, but I think they could use some visual reminders too.

So for the next nine weeks, starting on Monday, we’re going to cover one fruit per week, and see if we can’t get some better habits set in our house and some visual reminders up to help us all out.

Practical Application:

Make some visual reminders – it can be words on a paper, a picture of someone, a scripture, a drawing – ANYTHING that will help us remember the fruit we really want to be pouring from our lives.

Put them in the places you need them.  (For me, I need a patience & gentleness reminder where I do homework with me sons.  And love, kindness, goodness, & self-control reminders in places where I interact with my husband.  As well as a peace reminder taped to my debit card.  And a joy reminder in my purse so whenever I leave the house I can remember to take my attitude of joy along.)

Be faithful and constant to STOP, breath, PRAY and use those reminders to walk in the spirit and NOT in the flesh.

4 Responses to “Visual Reminders”

  1. trixie1466 June 6, 2013 at 8:03 am #

    Kayla,

    I just love your posts. They always seem to apply to me specifically. Thanks for being willing to share. It’s good to know I’m not alone in this struggle. I feel like Paul in
    Romans 7:19.

    Blessings,
    Trixie1466

    • Kayla Gulick June 6, 2013 at 8:05 am #

      Oh me too!!! I love that Paul wrote that because it makes me feel less like I’m the only one!!

      Thank you so much or being vulnerable and sharing that you’re right there with me. It makes it so much easier to have confidence in moving forward when you don’t feel alone 🙂

      So glad to be friends on here!!

  2. Veronica July 8, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

    I have been reading about and trying to apply these verses this week! I don’t think stumbling across this post is a coincidence at all! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

