Learning to ASK BIG

10 Jun

We just wrapped up a four-week series at church called “The Big Give.”  It was very challenging and extremely encouraging at the same time.  Our church put together 8 teams on Saturday and served the community where our church is located.  I was on the car wash team.  We took over the bays at a car wash, and when a car came up, we paid for the wash and did all the work to make it shine!  It was so awesome some of the people we met, and we all walked away feeling incredible.  And so it rings true, it really is more blessed to give than to receive.

While the past four sermons were all about ways to give to God and to others, you can’t talk about giving in Scripture without also running into the truths that follow.  God loves to bless the generous giver.  One of my favorite verses is Luke 6:38 Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”

God promises to reward the giver.  To provide for and meet the needs off the generous giver.  To fill our barns to over flowing.

Does that mean we’ll all be millionaires?  No.  That isn’t the only way God gives, blesses and provides.  But it can be.

When I see God bless others, I’m never surprised.  For example, when my pastor was recently given a new vehicle, I wasn’t shocked.  Maybe a little jealous (HA!) but not shocked.

And when God blesses me, I typically recognize it and rejoice!!

But here’s where the truth comes in to play, I’m afraid to ask God for big things.  Not because I don’t believe He “can” give them to us.  I know He can.  It’s because these things run through my mind….

What if He doesn’t want to?

What if we have sin in our lives that we’re not repenting of, no matter if we’re big givers or not, we’re not deserving.

Other people are in MORE need than us.

We can work this out.  God lets people go without “this or that” all the time.  We got this on our own.

If God wants to give this to us, He’ll give it even if we don’t ask.

What if I ask God, and He doesn’t do it – can I take feeling rejected?  I already really struggle with that feeling.

God doesn’t just go around giving people cars, houses, thousands of dollars every day for the fun of it.

 

I have no idea why I’m afraid to ask God for BIG things, other than Satan wants me to be.  I ask Him for small things all the time.  But if it’d take a miracle, or $10,000 – I’m not going to ask because it seems like MUCH too big of a request.

And to be honest, if it is more blessed to give than to receive – I feel guilty asking God “to get” something.

We all know, we don’t GIVE to GET.  It just doesn’t work that way.  God can’t bless the “entitled”.  He can bless the servant, the humble, and the generous.

So I get all up in my mind…. where’s the line between knowing God pours a good measure on those who give – and giving hoping to see God’s good measure poured on you?

I think I’m going to skip the practical application today and ask you all for some interaction. Does anyone want to share their heart today on this subject?

Do you ask God for big things?

Have you ever struggled giving for fear that you’re expecting something big yourself?

Are you a generous giver, and how has God shown up to bless you in return?

Do you struggle giving because you don’t feel like you financially can give anything?

One thing I do know, God LOVES to bless us.  So if I know all things come from God and He’s our provider – then when I’m in need, no matter HOW BIG – I need to go to God, and be willing to ASK BIG because He longs to take care of us – even above our expectations.

 

5 Responses to “Learning to ASK BIG”

  1. gambillswife June 10, 2013 at 10:57 am #

    Great Blog, asking for things like new cars and new homes isn’t something I’ve asked for due to appreciating the fact the one I’ve been blessed with works perfectly fine. I’m like you in ways, I’m never been much on asking for things for myself but always pray for things for others in need. I don’t have much financially to give to others, just offer my prayer for them to be blessed with their needs. This is a wonderful topic ! I have been truly Blessed in Life, I am a sinner and God could have taken my Life many years ago. But I through myself at his feet and prayed for forgiveness and each day is a Blessing. Much Love sisters in Christ !

    • Kayla Gulick June 10, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

      Thanks for sharing that! It does seem like sometimes it’s easier to pray for others than for ourselves on certain topics.

      I was really challenged by my pastors messages not to limit myself to what I can afford on paper. That God multiples what we have left when we give to Him first. That is a huge challenge for me!!

      • gambillswife June 10, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

        I’m right there with you on that being a huge challenge for myself as well. I’m still considered a baby, feeding on milk & honey.

  2. Bethany June 14, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

    I worked in full-time ministry for several years. I was expected to raise around $25,000/year to cover salary, benefits, and ministry expenses. It was so HARD! There was a lot of rejection, a lot of months with inadequate paychecks (or none at all), and also a lot of joy, blessing, and seeing God provide in HUGE ways. It was through this experience that I really became a joyful giver of both time and money. Even not being a part of that ministry anymore, I still love to give to God’s work in both time and money.

    I struggled for a long time on the whole prosperity gospel idea. No matter how convincing it seemed, I couldn’t get it to work in my mind. We don’t work for ANYTHING God gives us. That’s the lesson of grace, forgiveness, and unconditional love of the center of the gospel.

    I know that God sees my needs and yet he also sees how my trials draw me to him. While he’s capable of fulfilling each and every need, he’s going to do so in his own time for my benefit. Maybe waiting longer than I think I can stand is for the benefit of my learning patience endurance? I could trust God for a better house/car/million dollars but if I can’t see the blessing in what I already have, what’s the point? If I’m asking out of dissatisfaction, then my heart and mind aren’t focused on the right thing. All I can do is trust God for my basic needs, walk in obedience with him, then if he were to bless me beyond those needs I can be even more thankful for his abundance.

    • Kayla Gulick June 14, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

      Thank you for sharing that! I love it!! Some really great points for us all to consider. I’m so glad you took the time to share. Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

