Fear…

10 Jul

I was chatting with a friend from church today about a big decision my husband and I are trying to make (she had to make the same decision in the past, so I was looking forward to hearing her experiences) and she shared with me that during the season when she was walking in my shoes, God gave her the insight to write a Bible Study addressing fear.

I’m not going to quote everything she spoke to me today – but I feel like the three highlighted points of her Bible Study were pretty incredible and really spoke right to my heart, so I’m going to share!

She said that when she is fearful, one of these three things is true.

1.) Her eyes are on herself.

– Can I control this?  What if I can’t control this? Am I doing enough? Am I doing too much?  Will I make a grave mistake?  What is I mess everything up?  Am I good/strong/smart enough to do this?

2.) Her eyes are on others.

– What if they do this?  What if they don’t do this?  What will they think if I do this?  How will they react if I do that? What will they say about us?

3.) Her eyes are on her circumstances.

– Logically, the only solution is this.  From where I stand, this can’t work out.  This is too big of a mess.  All of this can’t come together.  There is no way we can afford this.  There is no medication for that.  We’ll never bounce back or get back on our feet.

Ultimately, during the season where she made the decision I am faced with making, she said it taught her a huge lesson in overcoming fear.  When her eyes were on any of those three things – they weren’t on God.

And God is faithful, sovereign, trustworthy, holy, creator, healer, provider, protector, and the risen King!

Nothing happens outside of His reach, and He doesn’t need anything circumstantially to come together to provide any miracle He wants to at any time.  And sometimes, He allows situations because the lessons it teaches us and the growth in our character is worth the short-term confusion, pain, discomfort, uncertainty, and trials.

And to be honest – nothing she said was shocking.  I’d heard it all before in different places at different times.  And if you asked me – I’d have preached all that to you too.

But here’s the real kicker….  deep down, the root behind the uncertainty with this big decision we’re trying to make… is that I’m having a hard time walking out what I believe in heart, because fear has found its way in my life – through looking at myself, others and our circumstances.

Practical Application –

Spend some time reflecting on anything that brings forth the feeling of fear in your heart.  And then sift through these three thoughts.  Are your eyes on God – or on yourself, others or your circumstances?

6 Responses to “Fear…”

  1. learning1 July 10, 2013 at 11:47 pm #

    Coming from a “recovering-in-Christ” people-pleaser and worrier, fears are at the root of a lot of distrust in God and His power. I am learning that when my eyes are on Him alone, (sometimes mentally reminding myself more often than others to keep them there) I can release the need to answer all the questions so that I can “control” all the variables. God has all the variables in His hand and His will is what will happen. I especially feel better when I pray all these fears to God. I somehow feel more certain I can trust whatever comes about because I’ve leaned on Him. Thank you for this great reminder post!

    • Kayla Gulick July 11, 2013 at 7:24 am #

      Thank you for adding that! I didn’t really include that in the post — but I am in total agreement that we need to pray each of our fears to the Lord!
      Just recognizing that we can’t get rid of fear on our own, but God can remove them for us and bring us peace that passes all understanding is the very beginning of understanding how BIG He is and that He has everything under control!

  2. Jenn July 11, 2013 at 8:10 am #

    Thank you. Dealing with a “not so serious” situation right now, but I am lacking in trusting God because my fears have taken over and continue to worry and let it take over my thoughts. Thanks to the other comment, I have also prayed to release fears and remind myself in doubtful times to keep my trust in the right place.

    • Kayla Gulick July 11, 2013 at 8:14 am #

      I love my blog for this reason — just the chance to be real and honest with other Christians and encourage each other through life!!

  3. howsyourlovelife July 11, 2013 at 10:41 am #

    This reminds me of the story of Peter walking out on the water towards Jesus, doing just fine till his eyes left Jesus and went back to his current situation. Peter and I have a lot in common…

Leave a Reply

