Online Obsession

9 Aug

Last night while laying awake in bed waiting on my hubby to get home, I started feeling the conviction of my online obsession being addressed by the Holy Spirit.

I love my computer.  It’s a glimpse into adult life for this mom who stays home with kids all day long, every day.  It’s my chance to interact with someone, ANYONE who isn’t begging me to do something I’ve already said no to, refill a cup, wipe a butt, or get them something to eat.

Something about looking on Pinterest seems more appealing than that other stuff.

But as I lay there in bed last night and I realized that next week is our last full week of summer before school starts the following week, I was painfully aware of how many times I’ve said “just a minute”, “let me finish reading this real quick”, and “I’m right in the middle of something here” WAY too often.

I can’t even fathom when I honestly think about it what is so great about reading someone who I knew 15 years ago whom I never see anymore and quite possibly never will again, Facebook’s status update that is most of the time a waste of my time, that is better than living life with my kids right in front of me.

Honestly, I think it has little to do with Facebook, Blogs, Email, or Pinterest and a whole lot more to do with my selfishness.

I don’t have to live out patience, gentleness and selflessness while sitting at the computer finding enjoyment and entertainment.

It’s the same reason my kids don’t really have many chores yet. My older kids are quite capable of folding the laundry – but they don’t because it’s easier and much quicker for me to fold it (the right way) by myself and get it put away, than sit there -frustrated- trying to teach them to do it.  I’ll regret that some day.  And so will their future wives!!

I’ve been convicted of this before.  In fact, once, I deactivated my Facebook account for about 6 months.  And guess what, I survived!

I don’t know that I need to that this time.  But it’s time for some self-control and self-discipline again.

How about it?  Want to join me next week?

Practical Application:

Set allotted times to be on the computer for each day, and stick to them!

Make the most of the time you’re not on the computer – whether it’s being with your kids, cleaning your house, catching up on a project, visiting a loved one, or volunteering in the community somewhere.

Let’s live life by face to face interaction instead of always behind a computer screen!

11 Responses to “Online Obsession”

  1. justme August 9, 2013 at 7:57 am #

    I did this about 6 mths ago. We are empty nesters but I realized how much time it took away from “us” and was amazed how much we actually talk with it gone. I peek at FB, but stay away from the drama like the plague!

    • Kayla Gulick August 9, 2013 at 7:58 am #

      Thanks for sharing!! So good to know it’s totally applicable in every stage of life.

      It’s amazing how much we don’t even miss it when we take a break!

  2. Stephanie August 9, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    Me me me!!!! I am embarrassed to say I got nothing, I mean NOTHING, done yesterday. I’m an addict and I need help!

    • Kayla Gulick August 9, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

      I have had plenty of days that look just like that….

  3. Stef August 10, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

    I so relate to this post! Thanks for making me feel like I’m not the only one….and giving me hope that I can find the strength to kick my habit.

    • Kayla Gulick August 10, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

      You’re welcome!! Thanks for being willing to comment and relate so we can do life together instead of feeling along 🙂

  4. respectthyhusband August 10, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    I must say, I got rid of my FB page almost 2 years ago. My life has been so much better without it, I was needless to say addicted !!! I woke every hour just to check to check it. I was exhausted and grouchy from very little sleep. I was to worried about everyone else’s life. To me FB is a way to reunite and reignite old flames, I’ve had so many friends end in divorce due to finding old flames on FB. My husband nor I have a FB, life is so much more peaceful without it. My prayers are with all of you, I know the online addiction and the trouble it can cause. God Bless you all !!

    • Kayla Gulick August 10, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

      Thanks for your comment!

      YES! Facebook can cause problem in marriage!! That’s a great point.

      Even if not from old flames, just from checking out of time you could be with your spouse, to be wasting time on line!

      I appreciate the feedback!!

      • respectthyhusband August 10, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

        Your welcome ! I love spending every moment God has given me with my husband and son.

  5. learning1 August 12, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

    I wanted to comment on this too, because I have felt this nudge to look at myself in this area as well. I have discovered that the times that I am on the computer the most are when I am going through a hard time and/or feeling very lonely. I find that I am trying to either bolster myself with some insight or encouragement or I am vicariously “living” a few moments in someone else’s life. It is not so much for me a habit to do this excessively everyday, but rather, in times of trial. It helps me when I see this is what is going on, and I can step back and start working on what I need to to get to the bottom of it. (Soul search, pray, write my thoughts out, etc.) Then I can more effectively be there for my family. I can do this same idea with books as well. It all just needs to be brought into balance for each person. (Each one will know when is too much for them, or if it is too much temptation all together and just rid themself of it completely. Not all people are susceptible to the same things.) I try not to eradicate reading or my online time, but rather bring it back into balance, for what I and my family need.

    • Kayla Gulick August 12, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

      That’s good stuff. I’m going to pray over some reasons for the online obsession and not just recognize that it exists. Diagnosing the reason for the problem will help get things back into balance!

Leave a Reply

