A new community.

26 Aug

I wrote awhile back about “sheltering” our kids in a good way from the things that really are only harmful to them and don’t produce good fruit in their lives. Through that post, I had realized how sheltered I had become myself. And honestly, it hasn’t been a bad thing.

In that sheltered environment, I grew tremendously in my wisdom of not only who God truly is, but what His word has to say. For the most part, for the last 5 1/2 years, (since I quit working outside the home) all of my friends and people I have any real interaction with have all been Christians. And not even just infant Christians, but believers striving for maturity. It has sharpened me just as promised in Scripture that “As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.”

Already, through the idea this summer that our kids would be attending public school, and the months of baseball – we’ve been in a new environment. I’m learning how to and making quite a few friends who are not Christians, or who think because they believe that God exists that they are Christians.

These friends will not replace my other friends. And they will never become my best friends. We know that Scripture warns us that “Bad company corrupts good morals” and that if we think it won’t happen to us, we’re a fool.

However, I feel like I wasn’t quite ready for what God called us to do. I’m learning VERY quickly that this switch to public school was to get us in contact with some families that we wouldn’t have otherwise known. It’s the chance to step out of our bubble of protection and do real life with some of the unsaved, not only to be a light but to actually share the gospel with them on a one on one basis.

I’m not suggesting that the bubble we were in before was wrong. Absolutely not. It was crucial to helping reach a better level of maturity before starting this journey.
Five years ago, I might have jumped right in on the gossip train that has already rolled past me 157 times this summer. I might have been so desperate for friends because I was staying home and felt a loss of myself with my career change that I’d have allowed too much of the ungodly influence into a position in my heart that it doesn’t belong. Or I might have been too judgmental and not allowed some of these people to be right where they are, and love them through it. It is a tough balance to let people realize “I’m not exactly like you, but I like you.”

All I know is that Saturday night, I got to have a fantastic talk with a new “friend” of mine who was sharing how her son asked them to pray before supper and wants to try Wednesday night church because of some of the thing my son Jayden shared with him when they had him spend the night. She was telling me how Jayden told her son that “God” is a cuss word. And a few other things that made me so incredibly proud of my son I could just burst open! I had already been working on her to come to church with us.
She called around a bunch of places in town, and is trying to get her son involved on Wednesday nights and said that she and her husband will try to go to church once a month wherever the kids end up going to be more involved.

To some, that might sound like a waste. Like she’s not really in it. Who cares about once a month?

I care. It takes one Sunday – one encounter with Christ to change your life forever. And to see this family changed would make this whole public school journey WORTH IT!

Practical application –

Look around. You’re right where you are for a reason. And you didn’t get there without your situations being filtered through God’s hands. What does He want you to do? What fears does that bring up? How are you going to have to step out of your comfort zone? When will the opportunities arise for you to be faithful and follow through?

6 Responses to “A new community.”

  1. peacefulwife August 26, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    WOOOOOHOOOOOO!!!! God is SO VERY GOOD. ūüôā

  2. Jenn August 26, 2013 at 8:43 am #

    Again, you leave me with feelings of hope. I want to share with you that today is Cameron’s first day of school. Lastnight, we sat and talked about many of the items that you wrote in your letter to your boys! I just hope he can be that light in his school as well!
    Secondly, I just KNEW you would find avenues to share Christ with people that you have not encountered before through this new journey in your life!!! You wrote it so nicely here in the fact that God’s timing of you stepping out is the right timing and it was right for Jayden too. This is huge for that family and going back to your letter…you said, just one conversation with another student that your boys can talk to could lead them to Christ…and look, here you are, confronting that very idea with a new family!
    I can’t tell you how encouraged I am for you, and selfishly for my family too. I hope Cameron takes what he has learned and applies it. He will be at an overnight birthday party this weekend, and that was the first thing that jumped in my thoughts when I read about what Jayden did. Way to go! You should be proud!

    • Kayla Gulick August 26, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

      Jenn, on Friday night, I was NOT feeling good about public school AT ALL!!!!!!! We had a situation happen Friday (with this same friends asking about church) who kicked Jayden out of the recess club because he got grounded at home for asking Jayden to spend the night before he asked his mom, and I had texted his mom to see if he really was invited to come. The whole thing was heart breaking and made me disgusted with our options to handle it well. However, we’re going to let this play out and see how the boys interact this week. (Boys are different than girls)
      I’m sure there are going to be extreme ups and downs. But I’m going to try to rejoice in the ups and make every down a teaching moment and character building opportunity- for ALL of us!

      Good luck today! Let me know how it goes for Cameron!

  3. howsyourlovelife August 26, 2013 at 9:19 am #

    Good job, Momma. Here’s to many more encounters!

Leave a Reply

