Teaching Moments…

29 Aug

Last night, I took my oldest with me to Walmart. He’s 8 1/2 and in third grade. For some reason, I have no idea why, as we were pulling out of the drive way, I said “Hannah Montana.”
To which my son said, “You know mom, I didn’t know Hannah Montana was like she is.”

I asked him, “what do you mean?” He said, “she wasn’t wearing any clothes and was dancing around on stage.”

I asked him, “who told you that?” (Assuming he heard it as school.)

He said, “I saw it on TV. When I was in the playroom, it came on. After she took off her clothes, I stopped watching. But there are pictures of her on the yahoo page on the internet.”

Feeling completely mortified that he had seen it, plus that he has access to television channels that show that stuff, yet really proud that he stopped watching it, I said – “She’s naughty isn’t she?”

We had a good discussion in which I explained Hannah Montana isn’t her real name, and why she is behaving like that, and why we don’t. And I allowed him to share all his thoughts too.

After letting our conversation sit for a minute, he said, “Mom, it wasn’t even enjoyable.” (I knew he was searching for the word entertaining.)

To which I said, “Yeah buddy I know.”

Practical Application.

Don’t freak out on your kids when they tell you what they’ve experienced.
I was totally able to have an awesome conversation with my son letting him know that was wrong behavior and that it was wise to stop watching without punishing him or yelling at him for having had that on in the first place (because that wouldn’t have been a previously approved show by us.)
A disappointment was turned into a fantastic teaching moment, by taking a deep breath and listening instead of reacting.

7 Responses to “Teaching Moments…”

  1. ahumblevessel August 29, 2013 at 9:46 am #

    great advice! That first knee jerk reaction is hard to overcome for sure. Well done mom 🙂

    • Kayla Gulick August 29, 2013 at 11:27 am #

      Thanks! I did have to literally take a deep breath and pause for a second — I was so glad the Lord allowed me the power to do that, because now that I’ve seen the results of this, I think I can remind myself more quickly to come at things with a little more patience and not instant aggression.

  2. Gleniece August 29, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    Good for you, Kayla. Oh, wouldn’t it be nice if our kids would never have to see the ugliness of this world, never have their innocency marred. But we can get through this … Because greater is He that is in you, than he that is in the world (1John 4:4). I am so thankful for Christ’s love, strength, and protection. Thank you, Kayla, for your courage to share your heart. You are in my prayers, sister.

    • Kayla Gulick August 29, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

      So true! Thank you for posting that verse. That hadn’t come to my mind originally but it’s one I wanted to share with my son tonight!!

  3. songsofintimacy August 30, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

    Sounds like your doing a pretty good job raising that boy of yours! 🙂 Good job. And keep it up!

    • Kayla Gulick August 30, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

      Thank you. I wish I could say I always got it right — but at least I’m good at apologies 🙂

      • songsofintimacy August 30, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

        Same here… but thankfully we have a perfect Father to learn from. 🙂

Leave a Reply

