Brand new study and a brand new challenge.

16 Oct

I have absolutely no idea what the Lord is about to do in the next 9 weeks, nor what might be ahead for the future, but what I do know is that I’m out-of-my-mind excited about it.

Josh and I are starting a brand new Bible Study in our home on Sunday nights for an 8 week session starting in 1 1/2 weeks.  That’s not the exciting part.  The BIG news is that, these couples are all families who have kids going to school with our kids or who babysit our kids.  Yep, that’s right — families from our new public school!

I about dropped dead when my Facebook message asking if they had any interest was replied to with an enthusiastic “YES – we’re IN!!!” from 4 of the 6 families we asked!! (And the other two just couldn’t this time but asked to be informed of another start date for any future sessions.)

I am all about growing with our church family — we attend a church to be apart of the body of Christ and serve and love one another.

However, and I hope to not offend anyone here, but if I HAD to choose just one — I ‘d pick studying and growing with the parents of the kids who are growing up with my kids any day of the week.

There is immense joy in knowing that we have other Christian families who know where we stand on our convictions, who are learning and growing alongside us, who are sharing wisdom and struggles with us, and who we can pray with and for as we do life together and raise our kids together.

I have no idea if this will be 8 weeks long and end.  Maybe we’ll meet for another set of 8 week sessions and end when summer comes.  Maybe this will continue for the next 10 years and we’ll see families come in and out and be forever changed by growing, fellowshipping and experiencing scripture in new ways as we raise our families.

What I’m positive I can rest my head on tonight though is that God is going to move in the next 8 weeks to meet a need inside of all 4 couples because He planned this study long before any of us thought it up.

Practical Application:

Is it time to actively start a Bible study or prayer group with families in your community outside of just your church family?

Maybe it’s time for a wife or husband to start a Bible Study in your home with your child and some of their friends?

Maybe it’s for married couples?

Maybe for single parents?

Maybe for co-workers?

How can you step outside your church today to better reach those you do life with everyday?

2 Responses to “Brand new study and a brand new challenge.”

  1. Gleniece October 16, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

    I’m so happy for you, Kayla! There is a blessing and a privilage in sharing the word of God. I will pray that those attending will bring open hearts and willing minds and that God is glorified. My husband and I want bible study in our home too. But we live remotely and the opportunity hasn’t presented itself. Could you pray for God’s will here for us? Thank you. Enjoy your new adventure.!

    • Kayla Gulick October 16, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

      Absolutely I’ll pray for that!! I know what it’s like to have that desire but God’s timing just hasn’t been right. And thank you so much for your joy and excitement for us!!! I’ll be sure to update how it turns out 🙂

Leave a Reply

