Ok – I’m going there…. late.

4 Nov

I’m late on this topic.  I had fully planned to blog about it but then took that break – and then didn’t have all my thoughts together before the date came and went… but after being sent a request to write on this topic, I’m going to go ahead and do it – even though it’s late.

Halloween is such a taboo Christian topic. Some of the church is completely against the mere mention of the word, others are back and forth on certain aspects, and others see absolutely nothing wrong with the entire holiday and go crazy getting caught up in it all.

Let me say that I believe the people in ALL THREE GROUPS, fully believe they are doing the right thing.  I don’t believe any Christian takes a stance on this holiday without thinking they are honoring the Lord with their actions or refraining from sin as well.

I’m not trying to chastise or judge anyone with my opinion, I simply want to offer up some food for thought.

To begin with, the roots of Halloween and the beliefs behind the holiday come from differing historic origins.  There is the belief that it was started by Christians to celebrate the Saints, and there is the belief it was started by sorcery and witchcraft to celebrate evil and death.

I’m going to propose a thought here — it doesn’t matter.

Why?  Because we already know from Scripture that what man intends for evil – God can use for good. (Check out the life of Joseph in Genesis.)

We can spend WAY TOO MUCH TIME as Christians debating the laws like hypocritical Pharisees and miss what God is doing and asking us to do through grace.

Understand that I am not suggesting that participating in sin is acceptable for Holy Spirit filled believers – I certainly would never condone that.

But is dressing up in super hero and princesses costumes, carving pumpkins, bobbing for apples, eating candy and drawing spider webs sinful?

The actual sinful part of the holiday, which is celebrated today by A TINY FRACTION of the population (sorcery, witchcraft, calling the dead, sacrifices, satanic worship) is largely frowned upon by non-Christians just as much as Christians today.

For what that’s worth – even though Christmas is a “Christian holiday” the world has allowed it to be so commercialized that Christians actually DO sin by participating in it in some ways, and we don’t see Christians going into hiding for the day or standing on the street corners condemning those who participate.

Why are we hiding in our homes?  Has God ever commanded us to hide?  Or does He not always command us to GO — BE A LIGHT — WITNESS TO THE ENDS OF THE EARTH — SEEK OUT THE LOST.

We can’t do that by refusing to say the world Halloween, cross our arms in protest, turn off our porch lights, and refuse to acknowledge any celebrations during the last week of October every year.

I can’t take credit for this wording but on KLOVE radio station they said it like this:

“Halloween is the one night that the world comes knocking on OUR door and asks US for SOMETHING…..how can we lock ourselves in and refuse to open the door to them? We have the chance to give them Christ, and we’re too busy judging what is wrong with the holiday to celebrate what is right with it.”

Just passing out a piece of candy, with a smile, & kind words can open the door for a relationship with neighbors and people in the community from an awesome opportunity that presented itself TO YOU and all you had to do was open your door.

OR — go to their door on a day they are willing to open the door to you.

My kids love dress up, they love candy, they love people — we don’t hide from Halloween or from Satan.

He cannot close us up in our homes and cause us to hide.  Satan has no power over who our heart belongs to and if we participate in walking around our neighborhood – it doesn’t bring him worship — it brings our God glory as we love and fellowship with His people, both the saved and the lost.

Again, I’ll close by saying, I believe everyone makes their decision on Halloween based on what they truly believe is right to do, so I’m not looking to fight, argue or condemn anyone.

I just wanted to toss out some food for thought.

Practical Application –

How do you feel about Halloween?

Has it opened the door for me to be judgmental instead of loving toward others?

Do I believe Satan has the power to “own” a day on the calendar and in the world…. or do I believe God owns every day and what was once intended for evil can be used for good?

8 Responses to “Ok – I’m going there…. late.”

  1. Jenn November 4, 2013 at 3:36 pm #

    Like, like, like! Our church held a trunk or treat for the first time this year, and it was great to see, on a Saturday night, sooo many community members in our parking lot! Each person passing through the entrance was greeted with goodies (plus more to come!) and church information and a tract. So the word of God was passed out to more than 600 people that night! I agree with you fully on this. And I too, was in discussion about people’s thoughts on our church having such an event. It NEVER crossed my mind that it would be a bad thing. We are providing an OUTREACH! We had a great time, and for my kids it involved Ninja turtles, strawberry costumes, and candy!

    • Kayla Gulick November 4, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

      I am a big fan of the trunk or treat events!! Such a fun, safe environment and so relaxed for community members to come participate! This year, we walked around with some new friends and was able to fellowship and get to know them better while the kids went running from house to house! It was fun!

  2. CM November 5, 2013 at 9:45 am #

    I really liked this post. In the past year, I have began my personal walk with God (I’ve always known God since I was a child, but strayed away). With every holiday that has come up, I’ve have re-evaluated what My family was celebrating and why and have changed some things (like Easter-this past Easter, there were no mentions of the “Easter bunny”, only Christ). When Halloween arrived, I was thinking, do we celebrate, do we not???? How can I incorporate God in to this holiday? It hit me one morning in the shower…… hand out invitations to our church’s kids program on Wednesday nights. So that’s what I did. I thought it was the PERFECT opportunity to reach the kids of our community. I got flyers from my church and stapled candy to it, put it in a ziplock bag with other candy. I truly believe that God laid it on my heart and I feel that it was the right thing to do. So, I truly believe, what man intends for evil, God can use for good.

    • Kayla Gulick November 5, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

      Thanks for sharing that!! What a great way to get invites into so many kids hands. I’m sure God will water all those seeds you planted!

  3. Meagan November 5, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

    Great post. Awesome stance on this topic – one I’ve never heard before! I’ve always heard it’s such a horribly sinful holiday. Good point about what the world has turned Christmas into. I very much enjoyed this post. I don’t have kids, and am too old to really participate in this holiday, but I was still glad to read this. You made some great points. Thanks for this post!

    • Kayla Gulick November 5, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

      You’re welcome Meagan! Thanks for the encouragement. Hopefully this post will stir some great thoughts for ways you can still enjoy this holiday in the season you’re currently in and even future seasons 🙂

  4. howsyourlovelife November 6, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    STANDING OVATION!!!! Thank you for this! I love your point about Christians sinning on how we celebrate Christmas – if it’s true for one day, it’s true for another because of all the commercialization.

    • Kayla Gulick November 6, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

      Thanks girl! I agree totally about commercialization!!!

Leave a Reply

