Unrelenting.

21 Jan

My best friend and I were chatting the other day and she was talking about what she thinks her word of the year might be for this year.  Have you seen other bloggers who post a word of the year every January?  I follow a few blogs who do this, but I’ve never really given it much thought myself.  Maybe because my word of the year, for MANY years has been MERCY.  Hmmm, I wonder if that was obvious at all?  For me personally, mercy was so multifaceted that I simply couldn’t learn all the Lord wanted me to learn, or grow enough to have any kind of grasp on it, in just simply 12 month.

However, I got to thinking about it and it might be time to admit that the word of my year is changing. I don’t know if it’ll be a 12 month word, or a five-year word, but I know that it didn’t take me long to think on this topic for a word to immediately pop into my mind.

Here is my word – and then I’ll explain how I’m starting to uncover the relevance for my life.

UNRELENTING

1. not relenting; not yielding or swerving in determination or resolution, as of or from opinions, convictions, ambitions, ideals, etc.; inflexible: an unrelenting opponent of the Equal Rights Amendment.
2. not easing or slackening in severity: an unrelenting rain.
3. maintaining speed, effort, vigor, intensity, rate of advance
I think most people pick a “positive” word, like CONFIDENCE, JOY, COMMITMENT, DETERMINATION, etc.
so the word, UNRELENTING, seems to be a bit of a Debbie-downer.  But I don’t see it that way and here is why.
— Learning to strip your mind of an ever evolving and constant feminist movement, takes determination and an unyielding heart to follow scripture and stick to your convictions, no matter what opposition you face or how your evil heart bends toward temptation.
(Go back and read definition #1.)
— My husband and I have come so far in our marriage and so much has changed.  But, it’s foolishness to believe you can ever let up, even for a second.  It’s still amazing to me that we can go days or week with unconditional love and respect and then if we let our guard down for a moment, needs go unmet, pride sneaks in, words form on the tongue and so much more.  The motive of purpose you place on your marriage to be a godly wife or husband cannot ease in focus or slack in severity, less you allow Satan a foot back in the door.
(Read definition #2 again.)
— Paul tells us that in this life, we are running a race to receive the prize.  In marriage, you can run together or run apart.  In order to maintain speed and keep advancing, we cannot lose the intensity of effort or commitment to unconditional love and unconditional respect and learning to speak each others love language.  We will grow together and run together as we help each other be the best version of Christ they can be by fulfilling our roles in the marriage.
(Finally, reread definition #3.)
In order to keep refining my character and grow as a godly wife, I must be an unrelenting soldier.
Practical Application:
If you picked a word for yourself this year, what would it be? Why?
4 Responses to “Unrelenting.”

  1. Gleniece January 21, 2014 at 4:23 pm #

    Dear Kayla- I’ve had to live that word “unrelenting” a lot in the past regarding my family. I had to be unrelenting in following God’s truth and not let my feelings sway me with compromise. It’s been a tough battle; one I can’t let up on still. Although I usually avoid fads, this word of the year idea has merit. So a few weeks ago I chose “Intentional”. I want to be intentional in my marriage. I want to reach out when it’s easier to retreat, I want to give when it’s easier to be stingy. God gave us a wonderful gift: our husbands. I don’t want to let complacency creep in while I’m busy with something else. Thank you for your thoughts and may God bless you in your endeavors this year. 🙂

    • Kayla Gulick January 21, 2014 at 6:00 pm #

      Thanks Gleniece for sharing your own experience with the word unrelenting. It’s encouraging to know that God has used this word to empower others to keep walking the narrow road. I think the word intentional is a great word and it’ll prove to be full of beautiful lessons and testimonies as you go throughout this year!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What’s the story on “My Demon” now? | Lessons Of Mercy - March 7, 2014

    […] I focus on and think of now is being intentional AND unrelenting.  (I talked about this word in January.)  I make an honest attempt at turning my wild thoughts […]

  2. What’s the story on “My Demon” now? | Peacefulwife's Blog - March 10, 2014

    […] I focus on and think of now is being intentional AND unrelenting. (I talked about this word in January.) I make an honest attempt at turning my wild thoughts back on […]

Leave a Reply

