Need perspective?

17 Feb

In the last two years, my blog has really grown.  I haven’t addressed that topic on here because it sounds proud and entirely contradictory to having the humble heart I desire.  And who wants to come across like that?

Of course anything good in me comes from Jesus.  And any talent or success I have in writing is because God pours His blessing down.  But I don’t think the good in me from Jesus is why my blog is growing.

I think it’s because I write about real struggles.  I lay my junk on the table, I’m totally honest about my short-comings, and I take hard stands on topics that are definitely not popular in the world at large.

People care about the content of a blog.  No one comes back time and time again to see a fancy template and pictures.

Today, I could write about a ton of short comings that became obvious to me just from this past weekend alone. I’m still entirely too wretched of a sinner to write about success.

But the truth?  Most of my short comings are because of my ridiculous perspective.  I’m a lousy wife, because I’m selfish.  I get angry about clothes on the floor, wasted family time in front of the television, and lack of leadership in the home because I would do things different, I ignore my sins and focus on his, and I have a serious issue with wanting to control every environment because I think I make better decisions.

Even though – I know God made man to be the leader of the family because he is not guided by his emotions and he is much more willing to make decisions on faith instead of security. That curse on Eve to spend her whole life longing to rule over her husband… well I surely didn’t escape it nor does recognizing it make me magically stop struggling with it.  I’m growing.  But I have not arrived.

I read something a few days ago that gave me a new perspective.  All these blown up issues in my life become issues because I get zoomed in on myself with a microscope.

I love others.  And I am really growing in mercy and grace toward everyone.

But that doesn’t mean I’ve learned to die to self in the cause for caring so much about others, it costs me my perspective.

Here is what I read.

About 150,000 people die each day.  Narrow is the way that leads to eternal life and broad is the way to destruction. Satan’s current kingdom is gaining souls at a rapid pace.

How many of that 150,000 do you think are entering Heaven?

How many people are investing in them spiritually?

What is the suffering in Hell for all eternity really like?

Do the socks on the floor really matter that much?

Does the spilled cup of milk really cost you anything besides five minutes of your time to clean it up?

Do the short-comings of another person really deserve the bitterness you’re wasting on it when eternity is one breath away?

Is harboring all that unforgiveness and keeping yourself in a prison of self-love and nurturing ministering to anyone?

What am I doing being so self-absorbed with stupid things that don’t matter????

It’s amazing to me really that so many fights, bitterness, unforgiveness, retaliation, pouting, silent treatments and so forth between myself and EVERYONE else in my life are such a big deal in the moment because of my selfish perspective.

150,000 people a day.

Satan’s kingdom is growing.

And I care about being the only person who can clean a toilet.

Practical Application:

Gain a little perspective. It just might break my heart for someone else, instead of only for myself. And make me a better wife, mother, friend and witness.

6 Responses to “Need perspective?”

  1. Jenn February 17, 2014 at 7:32 pm #

    Oh Kayla, I just went through this today. Have you heard of Mark Cahill? He has a way of capturing people to have a real love for the lost. His one book is called “One Heartbeat Away.” The other is called “One Thing you can’t do in Heaven.” –which is witness to people! I’d like to send you both. We purchased several copies when Mark came to our church a few years ago…with the purpose of reading and passing on to who needs it. I think it would open your heart even more on this topic and mine too. I need to revisit this truth that satan wins souls each day. What an awful thought! Email me or Facebook me your address again please! Thanks for the post that hit so very close to home!

    • Kayla Gulick February 17, 2014 at 7:48 pm #

      Thanks Jenn! That is so generous of you! I really appreciate it. I look forward to reading and being continually changed!!!

    • solyloraphotography February 17, 2014 at 10:25 pm #

      Jenn, I’d like to purchase these books from u too! Witnessing can be such a challenge Sometimes. Email me the info!

      • Jenn February 18, 2014 at 7:44 am #

        Hi! I don’t know how to message privately, so here is my email (since I can’t see yours) and I will send them when you give me your address. Jstrause@zoomtown.com
        I’m glad you are interested!!

  2. Rachel Self February 18, 2014 at 2:07 am #

    Goodness I needed to read this! I’m a Stay-at-home wife now and our house is a disaster… I’ve really been struggling with being 7+ months pregnant, exhausted, and achy. It’s hard to get much of anything done, and my husband has once again stepped up to really serve me. Only he doesn’t do many things the way I think he should, and I’ve been allowing pregnancy to make me very grouchy and short on grace. Well, to be honest….almost empty on the grace I show him.

    Thanks for the post :). I haven’t gotten on wordpress in quite a while so I didn’t even realize you had started blogging again. Glad you’re back!

    • Kayla Gulick February 18, 2014 at 7:10 am #

      Rachel!!!!! Seven months — YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t wait to see pictures of that already loved and destined to be beautiful with a mom like you, baby!!!!!!!!!!

      Yes — hormones are a nasty trigger for lack or grace. I wish I could tell you those hormones settle down once baby is born…. but they don’t. In fact, I was just told by my doctor that I’m going through a massive hormone change (obvious in a few ways when I recently went in to see her) because my body is “not” pregnant and it’s been use to being pregnant on and off for 6 years and now I haven’t been for 3. Good grief already.

      I’ll be praying for you to figure out a way to manage your emotions and feelings when they seem to surface with such intensity some days.

      And thank you — it’s good to be back. Actually, I didn’t stay gone long 🙂 But battled writing that post to come back.

Leave a Reply

