Easy?

11 Mar

I have a really strong conviction about the word “easy” in Christianity.

I just wrote a post last week about how this life isn’t getting “easier” even though I’m growing in my journey of unconditional respect and also closer to the Lord in general.

It has been brought to my attention that it might have come across as though I was saying I wasn’t finding victory without constant struggle.

Please give me the chance to explain why I don’t and won’t use the word “easy” in any of my posts regarding my life with Christ.

Let me start by acknowledging that Paul wrote well over the majority of the New Testament and yet when discussing his sinful nature he says this:

Romans 7:14-15 “We know that the law is spiritual; but I am unspiritual, sold as a slave to sin. 15 I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.”

He doesn’t make walking in Victory sound “easy” at all!!! And clearly, Paul was victorious over sin so many times, I couldn’t nearly count. He wasn’t sinless before God’s power was mighty and evident in his life, leading him – speaking to him – directing him – giving him courage and strength – and bringing victory.

He goes on to say to the church of Corinth “12 So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall! 13 No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be temptedbeyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.” (I Corinthians 10:12-13)

Do you see that??? BUT — WHEN you are tempted.  At no time does God promise to remove our temptations.  Ever. That would be “EASY”. HOWEVER!!!! He will provide a way out so that you can endure it (even with joy and worship!) if you call on His name and resist Satan or your own flesh. That is “VICTORY!”

Victory over sin never comes without cost.  That payment is always good and holy because it causes us to die to ourselves, and lay our sin down to choose righteousness, but it isn’t free.

I can be victorious with greater frequency and joy (which praise God almighty, when it comes to respecting my husband, this is proving true!!) but that doesn’t mean it comes easy. Or that if it isn’t coming easy, I’m failing.

I desire God and the victory in my marriage WAY BEYOND the love I have for my flesh.  It’s becoming SO MUCH MORE NATURAL to choose respect quickly and with little hesitation because the results are fulfilling emotionally, physically and spiritually like nothing else! Giving into my sin nature promises fulfillment but it leaves me empty and miserable. I am learning from my mistakes!

I’ve seen far too often in this life, the parable of the seeds ring true, and I cannot be party to the misconception Satan intends to paint.

Do you know what I’m talking about?  The seeds that hear the truth and dismiss it, the one’s that take root but when trials come they fall away, and the seeds that take deep root and produce fruit.

I never want to paint a picture that I’ve dug my roots deep in the ground and have fruit in my life because I have Christ – I pray and I read my Bible every day and my sinful nature is dead and life is EASY now.

Jesus had victory on the cross.  Was that easy?

John the Baptist paved the way for the Savior and then was beheaded.  Was that easy?

Most all of the disciples were stoned and flogged for testifying to the gospel.  Did they find victory from their flesh by facing fear and laying down their natural instincts to follow Christ at all cost? Absolutely!!!!  Was it easy?  No.

WORTH IT?  YES!!!!

ETERNALLY MINDED?  NO QUESTION ABOUT IT!

JOYFULLY CONTENT IN THE LORD?  OF COURSE!

VICTORIOUS OVER SIN? YES, YES, YES!!!!!!

DEFEATED AND ABANDONED?  NOT FOR ONE SINGLE SECOND!!!!!!!!!!!!

Am I saying that if we’re following the Lord life is Hard, Impossible, and we should live in Misery and Defeat?

NO! That’s NEVER the truth!!!!!!!!!

The closer I grow to the Lord, the LESS I even WANT to sin.  I want victory!  And He gives victory!  And that joy in Him is greater than any other feeling I could ever feel. JOY is not happiness as much as VICTORY is not easy.

Satan’s attacks on me, his nasty accusations, and his relentless temptations hold no power compared to the cross.

However, he is still vicious, and choosing to die to my flesh every day is not easy and without thought or intent.

When he sees his attacks are losing power because victory in Christ is stopping him dead in his tracks, he morphs into another temptation and attacks another area.

So if I painted the picture that I am not gaining INCREDIBLE, UNDENIABLE, and AMAZING VICTORY in Christ…. then I failed in writing the post.

Satan has not nearly the power to convince me to disrespect my husband.  God has shown himself faithful to help me recognize Satan and shut him out and choose righteousness.

However, if you walked away from that post understanding that I’ve found immeasurable victory in Christ from where I was with disrespect 19 months ago to where I am today… but I don’t have an EASY life now just because I love God, read my Bible, and respect my husband, then you got the right message.

If Satan was EASY to resist…. we’d live in a different world.

Even Jesus heard Satan’s voice loud and clear in the desert during that 40 days with his accusations and twisting of Scripture.  Did He have victory? Of course.  He was sinless.  Did he not even hear Satan’s voice at all and just walk through life easy, and without temptation because He was sinless and in tune with God? No. He heard Satan and had a conversation with him.  That doesn’t mean he was spiritually immature.

Practical Application:

Remember, the measure of Victory is not based on if you hear Satan or not.  He can be loud and out of control, and that doesn’t mean you haven’t found victory or arrived on your journey.

And — just because the journey isn’t easy, that doesn’t mean there is something wrong with you.

EASY was never, ever, ever a promise in Scripture.  Don’t make that the goal.  Make VICTORY the goal!

11 Responses to “Easy?”

  1. Elizabeth March 12, 2014 at 8:25 am #

    Kayla,
    It should also be remembered that Paul described the struggle he had to do the right thing in Romans chapter seven, “For when I wish to do what it good, what is bad in present in me. Woe is the body undergoing this death!” I feel this way too, when I want so badly to be perfectly pleasing to God but sense my imperfection. I think anyone who has tried hard to do the right thing in life for very long can identify with your words. Thank you for your post!

    • Kayla Gulick March 12, 2014 at 9:14 am #

      Another great thought! Thank you for adding that.

  2. learningever March 12, 2014 at 9:06 am #

    In your previous post, I could see that you had gained ground in changing habits and turning away from sin. You were describing “the battle” still. For me it was very encouraging to know that my struggle was your struggle.

    I too can see great gains, but an event can happen or series (struggling with other issue, didn’t sleep well, feeling stress about upcoming confrontation at work etc) that cause evil to rise up and scream at me. I feel like Paul then and wonder, “has anything changed here?”

    But I know when I look back that a lot has changed and I don’t have to think about each response anymore. Respect is coming easier and the benefits are wonderful! Thanks for this one also. Great further clarification.

    • Kayla Gulick March 12, 2014 at 9:16 am #

      You’re welcome. That is one of Satan’s best tricks… to make us doubt we do anything right. Especially if it doesn’t come without thought or intention.

      I’m so glad to know we’re in the battle and share the same struggles together. That alone gives us so much hope that we can overcome and we’re not alone in our temptations!

  3. respectthyhusband March 12, 2014 at 12:15 pm #

    This post hit home ! Thank you for sharing. So often we think life is going to be easy and always full of joy because we are following The Lord. We are going to have struggles and tribulations, sometimes even daily. We are constantly fighting our flesh. But God will always be victorious !

  4. peacefulwife March 12, 2014 at 6:59 pm #

    Reblogged this on Peacefulwife's Blog and commented:
    Kayla clarifies her post the other day that was an update about “My Demon” – THIS post is worth your time, too! 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing your heart and your story, Kayla!

  5. Florence March 13, 2014 at 2:32 am #

    After reading this post and commenting, I just realised, I had been redirected from peaceful wife’s site. God bless you Kayla for your beautiful words of inspiration. We all need these reminders in our daily christian walk.

    Peace and love of Christ ++

    • Kayla Gulick March 13, 2014 at 6:51 am #

      Thank you Florence! Blessed to have you read along!!

  6. E' March 13, 2014 at 7:16 am #

    Thank You!!!
    E’

    • Kayla Gulick March 13, 2014 at 7:18 am #

      Absolutely. So glad to walk this journey with you!

Leave a Reply

