What direction are you moving?

14 Sep

We went to a Sanctus Real concert Saturday night and it was oh so good.

I’ve been a fan since they became a band in the 90’s.  They’re from Toledo, Ohio and I grew up fairly close to there. I’ve

been to quite a few concerts and still have their very first cd.

I think I fell in love with their music right away because it’s real. (Ha, just realized the accidental pun there.)

Honestly though, the lyrics of their songs are the true feelings we battle in our souls and need the right words to get out. Or rather, might be afraid to let out.

They sang one of my favorite songs last night, and I wasn’t expecting it to hit so hard because I’ve heard it a million times and yet, I was fighting back the tears.

Matt sings:

Can I lose my need to impress?  If you want the truth, I need to confess.

I’m not alright, I’m broken inside. Broken inside.  All I go through, leads me to You, leads me to You.

Have a listen here…

Cause that’s the truth.  I’m just not alright right now.  But every situation is an opportunity to move closer to Christ.

It’s just a matter of picking a direction and moving.

Practical Application:

When was the last time someone asked you “how are you?” and you told them the truth?

Well… I’m asking. How are you? I care.

Whoever you are, wherever you are —someone sees you tonight and cares.

What direction are you moving?

8 Responses to “What direction are you moving?”

  1. Jenn September 15, 2014 at 9:48 am #

    Whoa Kayla. God led me here this morning. I had a revealing conversation with my mom yesterday. My prayer last night and this morning thanked Him for trials, because it is there, in those situations that we truly turn to Him, brokenhearted. Thanks for the song, because as much as I’m a fan of this band too, I haven’t heard this song. Although things are “fine” (our typical answer to people, right?!) I am in this place right now. It’s definitely drawing me closer to Him. So neat to see how He works. Just amazing!

    • Kayla Gulick September 15, 2014 at 1:10 pm #

      I’m so glad this was an encouragement to your heart.

      And thanks for also being real and honest that sometimes, we’re just not “fine.”

      ((This isn’t the first time we’ve been in the same place at the same time 😉 ))

  2. Heather September 15, 2014 at 1:10 pm #

    For someone like me who tends toward perfectionism in my performance, my relationships, and my faith, reading the title of your post, “What direction are you moving?” set off a light bulb in my brain. A very calming, low wattage, energy-efficient light bulb 🙂

    The light bulb illuminated this for me: Is our life on a path that shows we are moving ever toward obedience, turning over our will to our loving Father, accepting the gifts of the Holy Spirit, growing in relationship with Jesus?

    I think if we can step back for a moment and see that our life is definitely trending in this direction (obviously it is a struggle, or there wouldn’t be so many blogs about the issue!) we can rest in knowing that despite the inevitable setbacks, the dry periods, the daily slips, we are on our way, through the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ!

    I don’t know if you intended your title to inspire all this, but it did! Thank you!

    • Kayla Gulick September 15, 2014 at 1:18 pm #

      No, I didn’t intend for it to inspire all that.

      All I was intending to do was confess that I’m simply not alright.

      But isn’t that how our God works? He uses everything, wastes nothing, and can inspire something so profound in you through a trial I am in the midst of experiencing.

      His ways and thoughts are just so much higher than our own.

      I have no idea why I might be surprised by how God works… but your message came as a rainbow in the storm. A good promise.

      • Heather September 15, 2014 at 5:38 pm #

        I have to confess, Kayla, that I didn’t read all of your post or listen to the song before I replied. I was a little anxious to be posting for the first time, and anxious to share where the title of your post led me! Right after I hit enter, I rescanned your words again and read that you are suffering. I understand, I’ve just emerged from a tunnel myself.

        I just read a Ray Steadman sermon on Romans 6: 1-2, and find this excerpt to be applicable:

        Paul immediately reacts with a very positive statement, bluntly put: By no means! We are those who have died to sin. How can we live in it any longer? This does not mean that sin is dead in me. It doesn’t mean that I have reached the place where I cannot sin. Neither does Paul mean by this that we are dying to sin; that we are gradually changing and growing, and there will come a time when we will sort of outgrow all this evil. It doesn’t mean that at all. Again, we must face clearly the statement the apostle makes. He puts it in a once for all way: We died to sin. It is impossible for your lifestyle to continue unchanged when you become a Christian. It is simply impossible, because a change has occurred deep in the human spirit. And those who protest, and say they can go on living this way, are simply revealing that there has been no change in their spirit, there has been no break with Adam. They are still in the same condition.

        Thank you, Father, for the grace of our Lord Jesus, who has the power to break the grip of death upon my life.

        I’m glad Christ worked through me to bring a lantern to your tunnel. You have done this so many times for me, I am humbled to be of service.

  3. sophia208 September 15, 2014 at 2:26 pm #

    Kayla – I am one of your quiet followers.
    Just wanted to say been thinking of you these past couple of day and will be praying for you!! So so many times your posts have been such a blessing in my life. God has used you many a time to speak life hope and light into my marriage!!! Thank you for your honesty!

    • Kayla Gulick September 15, 2014 at 2:28 pm #

      Today might be a good day to go back and read my own words.

      It’s a little dark around here right now.

      No, it’s a lot dark around here right now.

      Thanks for sharing that with me. I appreciate your words.

      • sophia208 September 15, 2014 at 2:35 pm #

        Praying now for Gods brilliant light to shine all over you!!

Leave a Reply

