Sit back and cast those stones

21 Jan

Someone posted something on Facebook the other day and I was instantly angry.  I wanted with everything inside of me to fire off a comment, but I didn’t for two reasons.

One, this person was too spiritually immature to know better (obviously, since they posted it in the first place) and two, I DO NOT like Facebook controversy.  I try to avoid it at all cost.  I feel like someone is always, ALWAYS going to hear you better when you first attempt to understand them and talk in private, not publicly disagree with them.  And as of now, I don’t have a relationship with this person to be the one to confront them.

But! I don’t really want to remain silent on this topic, so… yay for my blog outlet right? (We’ll see if you’re saying that after I finish this post! Eek!)

This is what they posted.

faithful

That’s a lie. Period.  And I will explain why in just a second.

First let me say, we use this EXACT SAME “logic, reasoning, judgment, condemnation” whatever you want to call it, when we don’t like something that other people do.

“If you cared about me, you just wouldn’t take one more drink / cigarette / chew / drug.  You just STOP buying it.  You don’t put yourself in a situation where it will be present.” As if the saying above were changed to “You won’t have an addiction if you really care about someone.”

Or try this one on for size.  “If you really aren’t happy with your looks, you’ll just lose weight.” Stop eating. Get up and exercise. Care about your health. Take some pride in your looks.

How about something like this “If you don’t like being talked about, you’ll never talk about another person again.”

Ha. That one almost makes me laugh.

What are we assuming with each of these?

First, we’re assuming that NOT SINNING is easy.  As if we should all just be conquers of all sins because someone else “says” it’s as easy as some fly statement they make. I mean, Just don’t.

It’s amazing how sins we aren’t struggling with are just so black and white and they require little grace or understanding.  You just wouldn’t do it if you possess love. THE END.

(Notice I did not say that it is not “possible” to refrain from sin.  But it is NOT easy.  Otherwise, we wouldn’t need to rely on the power of the spirit, and we’d all just be sinless.)

Secondly, we’re assuming THESE specific things.

An adulterer doesn’t truly have love for their spouse.

An addict is incapable of caring for others.

An overweight person is lazy.

A gossip has never experienced being talked about OR has no feelings for others.

Let me put it this way.

I LOVE God.  With all my heart, soul, and mind, I am so indebted to His sacrifice on the cross for my soul.

BUT, I’m unfaithful to him Every. Single. Day when I sin. I cheat on him with my false and fake idols that I find more important than Him at times.  I do things in His word that I KNOW He detests.  I fail to love others like He’s taught me to do. 

Do I really not love Him because I don’t remain perfectly faithful?  Or might I just be a sinner?

I DEEPLY care about my husband and children.  But my selfish addictions (that seems like nothing *in light of heinous addictions like alcohol and drugs, eh hem, excuse me while I choke on my pride* my phone, TV, relaxation, reading) come before them all the time and sometimes really hurt them.

Do I actually NOT care about them because I have a really hard time dying to myself?  Or do I have a habitual addiction that causes me to misunderstand, justify and even overlook their feelings completely?

I am a REAL go-getter at many things in life.  But I have a HUGE sugar addiction and I never stay away from it for long.  Am I just lazy because I don’t walk away from it for good? Or might there be some deeply rooted inner struggle or maybe even a medical issue going on that prevents me from cutting the tie and changing?

I have been DEVASTATED by gossip.  But I’ve still been guilty of spreading it anyway. Am I a heartless person? Or is the deception of gossip so minimized and justifiable that it really shouldn’t even be included with a list like ADULTERY and ADDICTION.  Shame on me for drawing a comparison. Gasp!

Practical Application:

Oh God forgive me for ever judging someone as if they were just a horrible person because they struggled with black and white things that were EASY to just not do in my immature opinion.

Forgive me and all the others out there who are destroying the chance of sinners finding repentance because they devastate them with statements like the above as they talk from ignorance and judgment about something they don’t truly understand at all.

We have no idea what we’re doing here.  We need Your wisdom.

Why do we cast stones – like we’re sinless? Or less guilty sinners?

 

 

4 Responses to “Sit back and cast those stones”

  1. Merrie Beth January 21, 2016 at 2:26 pm #

    I had someone post that in my circle too. I think it was a 19 year old girl-making it even worse to me because its that whole fairy tale mentality. But I also kept quiet. ;).

    • Kayla Gulick January 21, 2016 at 2:28 pm #

      I just borrowed the book “Keep it Shut” by Karen Ehman (It’s about what to say, when to say it and when to say noting at all.) I am so anxious to start reading this. I think it’s going to be very powerful!

  2. Jessica M January 21, 2016 at 10:07 pm #

    Great reflection. We are hypocrites by nature, and no one is better than another. To borrow the term, we all have our demons. Thank you sharing your prayer, it is one we need to pray daily (but do we? It’s a rhetorical question) and may we all be slow to judge, slow to speak, and slow to anger.

    • Kayla Gulick January 22, 2016 at 8:50 am #

      I think we’ve learned to rank sins. Awful, horrible ones get a ten and we’re even justified to gossip about that sin and the people involved because it’s so bad. But other sins, like gossip, we give a 2 and we casually say “eh, everyone makes mistakes.” I’m with you totally! Covering myself in the same prayers and verses!! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

