In the Valley

12 May

scenery

Let me tell you about this picture and why I picked it.

When we’re on a bridge that leads to the mountains, we never really can tell if we’re going to the Valley or the Mountain top. If we knew it was going to be the valley, chances are we’d just jump off the bridge and not trust God with what His purposes are for us.

And that truly applies to the valley forced upon us (sickness, job loss, and so forth) or the valley we put ourselves in because of the consequences of our sin.

But the one thing I’ve learned in my life is that God’s provision is wide enough for the valley of our lives because sometimes, we just won’t get where He needs us to be any other way. He allows the deep with His provision, even if it isn’t His desired route for us.

The Valley signifies a lot of truths. Here are a few to meditate on.

There are often other people in the valley whom we need to meet. It may be while we’re going through something, or it may be to prepare us years later for the mirror image of ourselves we can pick out even in the dark because we’ll never forget our own season.

Recently, someone I hardly knew said we needed to have coffee. Turns out, I needed her more than she ever knew. And the same is true for all of us at some point in time.

So, start praying for who you need to meet. Both the encourager now, and the person you’re going to encourage later. They’ll both be the most precious souls and you’ll never be the same since knowing them.

There are other times our life is running so fast, we literally won’t slow down long enough for God to get our attention. In these times, He allows the valley to say “Hey daughter, slow down. Look at me. I have something to show You.” That may come in the form of changing something, getting rid of something, adding something or just opening our eyes so we don’t miss something. There’s beauty as soon as we look AROUND the valley instead of looking up at that once prized mountain top.

I’m not sure what the beautiful picture looks like right now but I know it’s breath-taking. It always is. Even if it’s just the mercy or grace of others being poured out, it can stop a beating heart at the site of it.

Truth be told, there are even times God allows the valley because we forgot for a moment how much we need Him. We can get on auto-pilot, confessing with great belief that we know we need Jesus every day, but we just go through the motions and even some really scary times, slowing decline toward danger without even realizing it because life just happens and we forget to feed on God like our whole life depends on it.

Enjoy the slowness of this season. You’re blessed to have time to fatten up on the word, drink deeply the living water and nourish your soul. There’s no better place than the valley to lean on Jesus every step of the way to help you make that incline back to the top. He isn’t at the top waiting for you. He’s right beside you, holding your hand and saying, I allowed this, please trust me that it’s for your good and my glory. I’m your faithful friend. And I love you.

While the Valley can feel defeating and lonely, it never has to be wasted pain. It’s just a set up for glorious ascent.

5 Responses to “In the Valley”

  1. Elizabeth May 15, 2016 at 7:30 am #

    Kayla, just remembering how many times I’ve met the right person at the right time is awe inspiring, and gives me goosebumps–surely the work of a compassionate, very loving creator. Enjoyed your thought about this! It would be great to share stories about this over coffee. I think specifics are faith strengthening., don’t you? Please keep writing!

  2. Satisfied Wife May 31, 2016 at 5:08 pm #

    Hi Kayla! I found your site through April’s blog! I just wanted to second this post and say wow, thank you for highlighting these truths!!! We all need this reminder that it is in the valley that He comes to save us and lead us on to the high places in His spirit!!! 🙂 Love it!

    Blessings,
    Amanda

    • Kayla Gulick May 31, 2016 at 5:44 pm #

      Hey Amanda! Super glad to have you here. I’m glad this post resonated with you. it’s always encouraging for me to know I’m not alone – so thank you for sharing!!

      • Satisfied Wife May 31, 2016 at 6:21 pm #

        Oh trust me Kayla, you are definitely not alone! I actually felt “thank God I am not ALONE” when I read some of your posts, especially about parenting 🙂 Thanks for sharing your experiences!!

        Blessings,
        Amanda

Leave a Reply

